R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2007, 02:08 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
jatoman1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: slidell, louisiana
Posts: 943
Trader Rating: 4 (75%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jatoman1992
Default rc speedometers

anybody got anything like this that works good
jatoman1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 02:52 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 290
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Nomadio Sensor has one that displays your speed on the radio, though it is a real pain to set up, it can do MPH or RPM with the included speed sensors. I have the speed sensor kit for it, and do not use it.

Alternately if you are looking for a top speed, strap your el cheapo garmin GPS to the thing and it will report a max MPH.

At Radioshack you can buy a radar (lidar I think actually) gun that is accurate to 100mph for something like 70 dollars. Useful for other things outside the RC hobby

this gets even more ineresting if you ride sportbikes, to get actual speeds verses what your speedometer says.. youll find that it is not uncommon for sportbikes to be off by ten percent (always on the plus side).. Why? To make you think you are doing 90 when you are actually going 80.. apparently you have more fun when you think you are going faster.
Seyruuen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 12:32 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

its so you dont speed on the roads. it keeps everyone driving 10% less than the speed limit.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 12:33 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i guess you could use a bike speedo if you mounted the magnet imaginatively enough. as long as it records max speed. the 4 digit number yuo have to put in on setup is just the circumfrence of the wheel.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 12:41 PM   #5
K_B
Tech Master
 
K_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe of loath View Post
its so you dont speed on the roads. it keeps everyone driving 10% less than the speed limit.

In reality, it just means that you get some relief when you discover that the ticket the cop just handed you is 10% cheaper than what you were expecting; instead of 60 over, you were only 54 over
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 04:51 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
wes95_z28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norman, Ok
Posts: 747
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I blew past a cop on mine at 150 some odd on the speedo, he wasnt at all too amused when he asked " Do you have any clue how fast you were going when you past me?" I told him "i am not sure exactly how fast i was going, but it was fast enough to not be looking at the speedo." Yeah i dont think it would matter if i had told him i was doing 160, either way 138 or 160 i was going to jail.
__________________
Wes

Kyosho 777 WC w/ big bores, RB S5, ACE 1313 s., Air 357 t., JP-3
HPI Savage X SS, Axial .28, Hitec 5645 Steering servo
Nitro TC3, O.S. .18 CV-R
Associated RC18T, Brushless, Lipo
wes95_z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 02:32 PM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: south jersey
Posts: 21
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default hello officer...

well that is better then when i told a cop:
'i dunno how fast i was going, my speedometer only goes to 130'

his radar gun said 147, my calc said 144...

sloopy.

p.s. my butt in the seat said 'too damn fast' ;')
sloopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:53 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net