Wiki Posts
Search

OS xz truggy engine

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2007, 04:02 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default OS xz truggy engine

Is it any good?? or for the price should i just get a ninja or nova?
Old 09-09-2007, 04:42 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Mine is running great so far. Only have 7 tanks through it and it still running extremely rich, after about tank 13 i should be ready to race tune. Hasn't died yet, started right away and is running strong. I have no experience with the Ninja or Nova so I couldn't tell you how it compares, but I love mine so far.
Old 09-13-2007, 02:34 PM
Tech Apprentice

Don't be scared. I ran 5 tanks through mine, then race tuned it. I went back an richened it up a little. To much power for a newbie.
Old 09-13-2007, 03:20 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)

I'm interested in one of these engines as well, but what I really want to know other than it has gobs of power, is;

How does it compare to other .28 engines? Better mileage, better power through-out the rev range.

What makes this engine better than any of the current crop of .28s....
Old 09-13-2007, 03:29 PM
Tech Apprentice

Well like I said, to tame it down, I richened it up. To night after work I will set end stops on servos. Seems to have a lot of power from bottom to top. Lot more than the .21 vspec, so it makes traction a new problem for me to deal with. Looks great on straight aways.
Old 09-13-2007, 07:19 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

I'm still waiting for the longevity reports before I buy one. OS' history of early bearing failures on the vspec and 3 gallon lifespan of the .30 VG has me a little wary.
Old 09-13-2007, 09:50 PM
Tech Apprentice

And then there are the OS motors that last 6-7 gallons, I think it's all in the way you take care of your stuff. Keep it clean and not to lean.
Old 09-14-2007, 05:44 PM
Tech Adept