R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2007, 03:09 PM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
jatoman1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: slidell, louisiana
Posts: 943
Trader Rating: 4 (75%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jatoman1992
Default

idk ace servos seem too expensive and not really worth it i can get more powerful hitec servos here at http://www.servocity.com/html/hitec_servos.html
jatoman1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 03:39 PM   #17
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lincoln Park-Chicago
Posts: 881
Default

Well, Hitec does have a great service policy so I hear. Too bad I also hear that you'll be needing it frequently. Never had a problem with an Ace in 2 years of weekly racing. Actually, I've only heard of 1 person ever needing service on an Ace Servo.
satoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 04:01 PM   #18
Tech Master
 
sir miles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,476
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeling View Post
Ace 1015 for steering

ACE 1313 for throttle

Regards,
Joe Ling
Very good choice!
__________________
gaining momentum!
sir miles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 04:12 PM   #19
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 156
Default

i'm a person that had a problem with an ace servo. My Ds1313 i had installed lasted about 5 minutes but i called the guys up they said send it in so i did. They sent me back a new one, but it took almost 2 months to get a new one, because the warehouse in the US had ran out and they had to get another shipment. So thier customer service is good just takes a while
vroom88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 06:40 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
Jason Halvorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 3,955
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jason Halvorson Send a message via MSN to Jason Halvorson
Default

HiTech 5997 steering and 5996 throttle.....
Jason Halvorson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 07:13 PM   #21
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 49 (95%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to loopedout
Default

Air 94358, all you need
loopedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 07:44 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
GHETTOTEACHER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loopedout View Post
Air 94358, all you need
yes sir!
__________________
Herolin <---Traded my Airtronics for an Ipad and Laptop...
Soon to be GHETTOPRINCIPAL..
GHETTOTEACHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 08:03 PM   #23
Tech Regular
 
rabidsquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 284
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Satoch,

Uh, I've had my Hitec digitals for two years now - racing every other weekend. Haven't had a lick of problems outta them. In fact, I've only heard unconfirmed reports of one person having problems with Hitec Digitals and that was over a year ago - UNCONFIRMED 3RD Party Info...

Lotsa problems with Hitecs? Not here... News to me...

rabidsquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 08:27 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
Jason Halvorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 3,955
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jason Halvorson Send a message via MSN to Jason Halvorson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidsquirrel View Post
Satoch,

Uh, I've had my Hitec digitals for two years now - racing every other weekend. Haven't had a lick of problems outta them. In fact, I've only heard unconfirmed reports of one person having problems with Hitec Digitals and that was over a year ago - UNCONFIRMED 3RD Party Info...

Lotsa problems with Hitecs? Not here... News to me...

i agree!!!!!! im running hitechs in my bug and trug and no problems what so ever....
Jason Halvorson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 09:49 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
skeller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Odenville, Alabama
Posts: 1,272
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to skeller Send a message via MSN to skeller Send a message via Yahoo to skeller
Default

I've got a HS5925MG and a HS5625MG that are both almost 3 yrs old and have been raced almost weeky......still runnin fine. I have had 2 HITEC servos go bad in 6 yrs.....but they were both bought second....or third hand.


However, I also have 2 Air. 359's and 3 358's with almost 2 yrs of weekly racing on them......still runnin fine. I've heard alot of good thinfs about the ACE servos....gonna try them next.
skeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 10:38 PM   #26
Tech Regular
 
fhm555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

No matter which servo you put in a t-maxx the steering won't be any quicker, stronger, or more percise than the stocker unless you replace the stock servo saver. Even with the best servo saver you can get for the maxx you are still wasting your money for a super high torque/speed servo. All a hot rod servo will do is overrun the servo saver while the spring unwinds and then the wheels will catch up as the saver spring recoils. Save yourself some dough and just get a HiTec 645MG and a Kimbrough HD (black w/universal spline set) servo saver. The only other thing you can do to improve the stock setup is replace the steering post bushings with bearings.

If you want the speed and power of a high zoot servo you will need to replace the steering assembly with something like the ProLine steering unit (if you can find one), or one of the latest versions of the UE supermax steering assembly. These are the only two upgrades which move the servo saver to the steering post so the servo is directly linked to the steering rather than run through a spring loaded servo saver mounted to the servo proper.

Here's a link to the UE steering assembly.
http://www.unlimitedengineering.com/...ore/13601.html
Note the servo saver is built like an 8th buggy. The ProLine unit is essentially the same, it's just made from plastic. It's been discontinued, but they show up from time to time on ebay.

Last edited by fhm555; 09-06-2007 at 12:58 AM.
fhm555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 01:10 AM   #27
Tech Regular
 
fhm555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just checked ebay and there is a seller with 2 NIP ProLine t maxx steering units up for sale. Do a search for "proline steering" and look in ebay stores.
fhm555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 03:36 PM   #28
Tech Champion
 
tony montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Leonardtown Md.
Posts: 6,108
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

5955 for steering and 5996 for throttle
__________________
K.C. Guy. Team Xray - rc america
tony montana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:47 PM   #29
Tech Regular
 
Unsober1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 315
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony montana View Post
5955 for steering and 5996 for throttle
Thats what I have as well!!!!!
Unsober1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:56 PM   #30
Tech Addict
 
RevMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cebu
Posts: 687
Send a message via MSN to RevMaxx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony montana View Post
5955 for steering and 5996 for throttle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unsober1 View Post
Thats what I have as well!!!!!
are you both running KONG tires?
that's a lot of torque for your steering there...
RevMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
steering servo? C_Money Electric Off-Road 7 12-07-2007 03:06 PM
Steering servo and Throttle servo same speed? straightaway Nitro On-Road 4 11-06-2007 07:21 PM
RC18T servo, servo saver, and steering rack Bansheeman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-27-2005 08:27 PM
Steering Servo.... vtl1180ny Electric On-Road 1 01-20-2004 01:16 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net