R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2007, 04:46 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default spektrum Rx problems?

hi I was taking my radio plate off and broke the spektrum sr3000 antenna and inch from the Rx is there any way to install a new one?
thanks
aussies1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 06:57 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Timmahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,257
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Timmahh
Default

you can send to horizon for repair. also take it to you local LHS, they should be able to solder a new antenna on for you.

if you can find the same type of wire they originally used, you can re solder your own wire on, just keep it IDENTICAL to the stock wire size and length and you SHOULD be ok.
T
__________________
Check my F/S ads I am posting up, Liquidating my bajas and SCBs in part outs.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/562290-wreckluse-crawler-chassis-other-scaler-parts.html http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/562534-hpi-baja-items-f-s-motor-rtr-tranny-full-wheel-sets-servos-more.html
Timmahh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 07:42 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
griz11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Granite Shoals Tx
Posts: 632
Send a message via MSN to griz11
Default Pretty hard to do

I had one get cut off as well. Tried to solder on another one but failed. And I'm good with a soldering iron. The pad is super small and it lifts off easily. They probably use a flow solder machine or a ultrasonic soldering device to make them. I measured the antenna wire that Futaba sells and the gauge is the same only the coating is bigger. You can try that they are fairly easy to find. Give it a go just be careful and don't heat up that pad too much. Its worth a try.

Griz
griz11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 08:02 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
SKOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 339
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Trying to solder a new wire to the inch that is still protruding from the case is probably worth a shot, but be aware that opening the case on a receiver will usually void the warranty. I had the same problem with an Airtronics receiver and sent it in and they replaced the antenna for free. If you're not experienced with soldering it's probably worth sending it back for them to replace.
SKOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007, 02:18 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys will give the soldering a try
aussies1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Spektrum Dorigecko Australian Racing 5 08-04-2008 02:59 AM
Problems with Spektrum DX3 Dorigecko Radio and Electronics 0 08-03-2008 07:33 AM
Spektrum DX2.0 problems itspat Radio and Electronics 0 12-14-2007 05:00 PM
Spektrum problems, Please help! madlosi79 Nitro On-Road 24 07-14-2007 10:12 PM
Problems with Spektrum and LRP AI esc wabbz Rookie Zone 9 06-26-2006 04:17 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:14 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net