R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2007, 08:11 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default gt10 wont stay running!!! help!!

Hey guys. I am new to the whole RC thing. I went and bought a RC 10GT yesterday and finally got to try it out tonight. I followed the Break in steps and ran fine during the first tank. Next tank would not start. Glow plug is ok, fuel is full. I finally got it to start but as soon as I took the ignitor off the car died. Finally got it to start again and as soon as I took it off it died. Please help. I want to enjoy my toy, but I am stumpped!!!
newguytoRc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 08:14 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
sheetmetal2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default glow plug

Did you install a new glow plug or are you just visually inspecting it? I have had that same issue but when I changed the plug it fired right up and worked great.
sheetmetal2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 08:15 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Crim3Wav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MasshoL3
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

this is a symptom of a "bad" glowplug....during your "rich" runnin tank, you more than likely ruined the element of the glowplug....you need a new one.
Crim3Wav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:06 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the help. I wont be able to find out tonight due to, a broken fuel tank(dont know what happend). The pull start on this truck must be very tight cause if it is not pulled right the truck comes right up with me. Any beginer tips you can offer?
newguytoRc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:09 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Jason Halvorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 3,955
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jason Halvorson Send a message via MSN to Jason Halvorson
Default

being the engine is new and not broke in yet it has lots of pinch, and thats why it is hard to pull start...
Jason Halvorson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:38 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 44
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Its flooded. Take off the glow plug and pull the pull starter a few times to remove the excess fuel. Make sure you don't look down into the engine, the fuel will shoot out into your eve.
lyung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:46 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Thank you for that. After I let it idle for the 4 tanks am I able to take it full throttle or is their still restrictions on the motor.
newguytoRc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 10:31 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newguytoRc View Post
Thank you for that. After I let it idle for the 4 tanks am I able to take it full throttle or is their still restrictions on the motor.
Make sure you get temps over 200 degrees and start driving it around real easy. Sometimes running too rich can hurt. Make sure to keep it running while driving it around. and don't be afraid of temps from 210 to 250. Every engine is different. Even the same kind of engine built by the same person on the same day. they develop a personality. lol. Just keep a little smoke coming out of the pipe and you should be fine. If you have tons of smoke and poor performance you are too rich. The motor should perform like you'd expect, and keep a little smoke coming out.
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 09:09 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
TKCastle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 118
Default

What air8 said is right keep it runing and if you have to, get it warm with the igniter on the head for 10-15 sec. If it still dies when removed dont be scared to lean it an hour(1/12 turn,think of a clock face) or two. Factory settings start super rich just to keep you safe and watch your temps if it gets around 250 shut it down and let it cool for 20 min. Are you running the AE .15 motor? If so adjust the high needle a 1/12 turn at a time. I know the manual says to go a 1/4 but from experience this motor has a fine line of being perfect or a 1/12 turn of being to lean. Take your time ask questions and have fun. Oh and DO NOT PUNCH IT FOR THE FIRST FIVE TANKS. Drive conservative, its boring but better for your motor and wallet.
TKCastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 06:49 PM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default

I work at pepboys and we sell the digital thermometers, but even with my discount they are 45.00 any cheapers ones by chance
newguytoRc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 09:34 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
TKCastle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 118
Default

The guy that runs the HS behind Revelation Raceway uses the O'donell temp guage. Everyone goes to him for everything tuning related. Its like 35 bucks.
TKCastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 07:55 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
MADMAN23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: waddington ny
Posts: 6,359
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Send a message via AIM to MADMAN23
Default

after runing it put after run oil in the motor and carb about 2 drop's
__________________
catch me if you can....

WWW.RCFANATICS.NET
http://rcraracing.com/sitebuilder/images/FORUM/index.php


C&D R/C RACEWAY
Team Wicked Racing
MADMAN23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 08:05 AM   #13
Tech Champion
 
MADMAN23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: waddington ny
Posts: 6,359
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Send a message via AIM to MADMAN23
Default

also get a fail safe. and a temp gage.. i have both if you want make me a offer...
__________________
catch me if you can....

WWW.RCFANATICS.NET
http://rcraracing.com/sitebuilder/images/FORUM/index.php


C&D R/C RACEWAY
Team Wicked Racing
MADMAN23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor won't stay running Captpete Rookie Zone 20 06-21-2008 07:04 PM
My 1/10 Wont stay in a straight line!! andy85 Electric On-Road 18 06-11-2008 12:12 PM
HB gt10 mt joe of loath Monster Trucks 0 07-10-2007 04:01 AM
nitro sport wont stay running wlvrn Electric Off-Road 20 06-28-2005 07:56 AM
this little pin wont stay in *pics* kh15 Electric On-Road 6 09-21-2004 08:52 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:24 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net