R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2007, 08:28 AM   #1
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 28,526
Trader Rating: 233 (100%+)
Default Going from OS 8 to MC8 plug, how many shims?

Has anyone done this? If so, how much shim difference did you ned to add to the MC8 since it looks like a longer plug?

If anyone can measure with a caliper that would be great, got rid of my OS8 plug before I could measure it to see the exact different.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno SCT410.3 x 2 |HB Racing D413 x 2 | Tekno EB48SL x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2>
Cain is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 08:35 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,846
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

I have done this but I used the thicker shims I had left over from some Odonnell OS plugs I had before. Most will tell you that two standard shims will do it but I have never measured to be sure.
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 08:36 AM   #3
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 28,526
Trader Rating: 233 (100%+)
Default

Davidka: Big thanks. I will probably go with all OS plugs in the future, its just what I had in the pit box and I have a couple more of these so I will see about getting use from them.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno SCT410.3 x 2 |HB Racing D413 x 2 | Tekno EB48SL x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2>
Cain is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 06:40 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Red face

You might want to pull the button off your motor and check where the plug is supposed to be. If it is too short it will not fire right at idle. Very difficult to tune. Too long and you know what will happen.
Make sure what ever plug you use goes to just about flush in the bottom of your button. Don't let it protrude into the firing chamber and don't let it be short of the hole. This will get the best burn for ya and make the motor easy to tune.
OS makes long plugs as well.
TEX
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo plug Vs Standard plug mrhenning11 Electric Off-Road 1 04-16-2007 08:20 AM
how many shims to use w/ 30% OS VRZ II straightaway Nitro On-Road 3 04-09-2007 11:28 AM
shims Renracer R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 04-08-2007 04:57 AM
Turbo plug vs standard plug shortygy Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 5 08-13-2004 03:10 AM
Help! How many shims???? mtx3racer Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 2 07-16-2004 09:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net