R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2007, 11:57 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
sickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,974
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryno1922 View Post
Check out the new Upgrade Team Losi 8 starter box graphic. Available in carbon, flame, camo, and many others. Please send us an e-mail or call us for more details. ryan@upgrade-rc.com (661)259-8772
i plan on ordering those next week. one question though, no graphics for the front and rear?
sickboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 07:18 AM   #17
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryno1922 View Post
Check out the new Upgrade Team Losi 8 starter box graphic. Available in carbon, flame, camo, and many others. Please send us an e-mail or call us for more details. ryan@upgrade-rc.com (661)259-8772
That didnt take long.. lol. Will there be the American flag skin?

Where's the Helios skin?
FlyByWire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 08:13 AM   #18
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 754
Default

All 14 Upgrade/ RCiD starter box designs are available on the site for you to customize to meet your needs. You can check them out by clicking on this link.
http://www.rcidcustom.com/mm5/mercha...tarterBoxSkins
Attached Thumbnails
losi 8B-8T Starter Box-up-losi8startbox-1.jpg  
__________________
Ryan Pursley
Upgrade/ RCiD
ryan@upgrade-rc.com
www.upgrade-rc.com
661-259-8772
ryno1922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 06:06 PM   #19
Tech Rookie
 
jamcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 15
Default Help--- 8rtr/Starter box

Starter box wheel does nit fit chassis of rtr 8.
jamcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 07:32 PM   #20
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamcon View Post
Starter box wheel does nit fit chassis of rtr 8.
is it because you havent changed the motor mount and backplate off your 427 or what?
vroom88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 08:06 PM   #21
Tech Rookie
 
jamcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 15
Default

re you suggesting I need to change motor mounts and backplate? Nothing is said about that in instructions for using the box.
jamcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 08:12 PM   #22
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 156
Default

with the RTR it has the spinstart backplate so the mounts need to be higher so in order to use the starter box you need the backplate for the motor that allows it to go lower and you need the motor mounts to lower it then it will work
vroom88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 09:21 PM   #23
Tech Rookie
 
jamcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 15
Default

I can accept what your suggesting but the size of the wheel on the starter box is 2" when fully pushed down, the hole on the chassis is 1 and 1/4". I can see how changing the mounts will lower the motor but I don't think it will solve my problem. I agree changing the backplate sho uld be done. The backplate already sits in a cutout in the chassis.
jamcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 09:39 PM   #24
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamcon View Post
I can accept what your suggesting but the size of the wheel on the starter box is 2" when fully pushed down, the hole on the chassis is 1 and 1/4". I can see how changing the mounts will lower the motor but I don't think it will solve my problem. I agree changing the backplate sho uld be done. The backplate already sits in a cutout in the chassis.
I just held the RTR chassis up to the kit chassis and the flywheel openings are the EXACT same. Changing the backplate and mounts will fix your problems. It would be nice to have two ways of starting these things for when belts strip or pulleys break. Or when the one way bearings give up on ya. But it is give and take as with most aspects of life.
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 05:23 AM   #25
Tech Addict
 
layedbackguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: dc,md,va,nc,oh
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to layedbackguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamcon View Post
I can accept what your suggesting but the size of the wheel on the starter box is 2" when fully pushed down, the hole on the chassis is 1 and 1/4". I can see how changing the mounts will lower the motor but I don't think it will solve my problem. I agree changing the backplate sho uld be done. The backplate already sits in a cutout in the chassis.
Changing the back plate and switching RTR Motor mounts with kit motor mounts will make it work perfect. A guy at my track had a rtr and tried to start it on my mugen box, and the wheel came no where near hitting the flywheel. That will solve your problem for sure
layedbackguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 06:07 AM   #26
Tech Rookie
 
jamcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks all you guys for your input, I've ordered the parts so we shall see. Thanks again. One would think they would inform people that these changes have to be made on the 8 RTR.
jamcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 08:44 AM   #27
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Thumbs up I'm just kidding....

You are in the right place... Consider yourself informed.
LOL!
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 07:00 PM   #28
Tech Initiate
 
mattkav09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Troy,Ohio
Posts: 42
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mattkav09
Default

Does anyone have the part #'s for the backplate to convert from spin start to starter box?
mattkav09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 07:59 PM   #29
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattkav09 View Post
Does anyone have the part #'s for the backplate to convert from spin start to starter box?
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/4331

You'll also need these...
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/9001
g26er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 03:29 AM   #30
Tech Regular
 
SHIZZILANILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hooffta
Posts: 317
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Not very happy with the power of this box. And the plastic mounts seem alittle on the weak an cheap side. It starts motors good enough , but try starting a new motor? dont know.
SHIZZILANILLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LOSI 8B/8T STARTER BOX W/ LOSI 14.8V LIPO STARTER BOX PACK pink_sleeve R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 09-24-2008 06:12 PM
NEW! Losi Starter Box, Mamba Max ESC, Losi Mach 427 Engine, Pipe, Air filters, etc! JeffEmbracedDC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-12-2008 06:55 PM
Losi Lipo charger + Losi starter box + Torqmaster gel cell Revo-lution Radio and Electronics 1 05-11-2008 02:31 PM
Losi 8ight/Losi starter box/tons of spares FlyByWire R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 30 08-08-2007 03:04 PM
Losi XXX-NT Starter Box El Pedro Australia Wanted to Buy 3 05-24-2007 05:45 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:22 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net