R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-12-2007, 08:43 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
Jason Halvorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 3,955
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jason Halvorson Send a message via MSN to Jason Halvorson
Default

i have one....i dont think you can run more than one car on it at a time....i just got it for testing to see if my changes and line choices make a difference...
Jason Halvorson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 10:27 AM   #17
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lillooet,BC
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Halvorson View Post
i have one....i dont think you can run more than one car on it at a time....i just got it for testing to see if my changes and line choices make a difference...
What about if theres 2 systems, can the transponders be different so mine doesn't count on my buddies? 194 buxs seems like a great price. thanks for the info. Dan
danimal1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 06:18 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Jason Halvorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 3,955
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jason Halvorson Send a message via MSN to Jason Halvorson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danimal1965 View Post
What about if theres 2 systems, can the transponders be different so mine doesn't count on my buddies? 194 buxs seems like a great price. thanks for the info. Dan
thats a good question...i would email orion and ask them about that....
Jason Halvorson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 07:55 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
RCBLUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 2,081
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Yes you can run two seperate systems. In the settings menu there is a place to change your transponder number. As long as you and the other persons transponder is a different id number, then your good to go. It will be like a 2 digit number that should be or was on your transponder. As most people know you can onle use one transponder to one system at a time.
__________________
Don't sweat the petty things...........Pet the sweaty things!!

Serpent America
Lunsford Racing
RCBLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 10:06 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
RC Scoring Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elm Grove, WI (Milwaukee area) USA
Posts: 2,010
Default

The AMB 8800 must be the really old system that nobody even uses anymore, it had a plug in ISA board that went into the PC.

The AMB20 uses house transponders #1 to #20. Personals do work with the AMB20 system, but the 7 digit transponder number is reduced to the last digit (2345678 = 8). The AMB20 transponders are getting hard to find, AMB no longer will sell them or fix them. Some guys out there will replace the battery for you for $20 per transponder.

The new AMB decoder box is called the AMBrc3

http://www.amb-it.com/ambrc-base-system-c-16_41.html
__________________
RCScoringPro.com

Official software of: ROAR Nationals, IIC, Cactus Classic, Indoor Champs, Reedy Race and Trackside Hobbies in Brookfield, WI!
RC Scoring Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 10:55 AM   #21
Tech Master
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
RC Scoring Pro

The AMB20 uses house transponders #1 to #20. Personals do work with the AMB20 system, but the 7 digit transponder number is reduced to the last digit (2345678 = 8). The AMB20 transponders are getting hard to find, AMB no longer will sell them or fix them. Some guys out there will replace the battery for you for $20 per transponder.

Are you sure about that?

"I" have tried AMB personal transponders and the red (rc) (digital) house transponders, and got nothing on a AMB system20.


"If" it did work, it would be a scores nightmare. Easily everyone in a race could have the same last number, so it would only show "one" car in the race.

Last edited by Ed Anderson; 08-14-2007 at 05:53 AM.
Ed Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 04:49 AM   #22
Tech Adept
 
Airtimeasto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalow, 10mins west of Byron Bay
Posts: 128
Default need a lap counter

Has anyone heard of the I-lap system, it works on a infared sensor
and personal transponders. Costs $1500 Australian for the decoder,
14 sensors, cables and 20 personal transponders. AMBrc3 is to pricey
for new track starters like me.
Airtimeasto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 02:04 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
chicagokenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,210
Default

We use it at two tracks here in Chicago.

Works flawlessly with any race management software. Currently I-LapRc is shipping with a RC Scoring Pro demo software for free.

We use I-LapRC with Alycat race software.
chicagokenji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 05:06 PM   #24
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 565
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to SirSpeedy Send a message via AIM to SirSpeedy Send a message via Yahoo to SirSpeedy
Default

We use I-Lap with rc scoring pro - works great, less than $400 plus transponders.....I honestly can't believe how good in works.
__________________
Tim Davis
SirSpeedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 08:42 PM   #25
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

wow. That sounds like too good to be true, if it works like it should.

so what would be total setup cost for the AMBrc3 if a track was to attempt to get setup?
__________________
--Driver...you are cleared into the track.....Smoke On.

--"U Ain't Fast!!"
Chris Pearce
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 08:57 AM   #26
Tech Master
 
Bob Malphurs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Monroe, GA USA
Posts: 1,147
Default

Look what you guys have gone and done! Now I have to go and borrow an AMB20 form a local track that closed a while ago and test if the AMBrc transponders do work on the AMB20! Just got off the phone with Dave at AMB USA, according to him it Does Not.

It a coincidence that I came across this thread: Just yesterday I had someone ask this very thing and was going to buy this system I'm borrowing, based on if it would read the AMBrc transponders. I told him "NO" it would not.

Last edited by Bob Malphurs; 09-08-2008 at 11:05 AM.
Bob Malphurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 10:23 AM   #27
sac
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 333
Default

Track owners and clubs looking into buying a lap counting system .Stop thinking about the OVER priced AMB system and buy the I-LAP system.Works just as good and cost way less than the AMB.yes it uses different transponders than the AMB ,but thet are $40 compared to $110+ for the AMB transponder.
Don't let the racers tell you to buy the AMB because the may already have a AMB transponder.They WILL make the switch to the I-lap transponers.Save your money!! go I-LAP..
sac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 10:29 AM   #28
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

It's a good thought. But I'm referring to a Tri-state area, maybe bigger. The tracks I go to in the central U.S. all use AMb so it's just easier I think. But I'll do some research on the I-lap anyways.
__________________
--Driver...you are cleared into the track.....Smoke On.

--"U Ain't Fast!!"
Chris Pearce
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 10:33 AM   #29
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sac View Post
Track owners and clubs looking into buying a lap counting system .Stop thinking about the OVER priced AMB system and buy the I-LAP system.Works just as good and cost way less than the AMB.yes it uses different transponders than the AMB ,but thet are $40 compared to $110+ for the AMB transponder.
Don't let the racers tell you to buy the AMB because the may already have a AMB transponder.They WILL make the switch to the I-lap transponers.Save your money!! go I-LAP..
That is great as long as your racers never go anywhere else besides their local track. Every big race uses AMBrc so that would mean your local guys that travel would have to have a transponder for boths systems. Does not sound like a practical solution when the majority are using something else. I say if you got the money to spend get the AMB system as well as RC Scoring Pro and you will have one awesome setup.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 11:03 AM   #30
Tech Master
 
GREGORY!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,074
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

so you can use the I-LAP transponder in AMB system?
GREGORY! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New lap counting system $8K, 2nd hand system under $3k bigfix Australia For Sale/Trade 1 05-04-2007 06:16 PM
Pro Lap Counting System Secret_weapon Electric On-Road 12 10-15-2005 08:14 PM
WTB: Lap counting system maverickalpha R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 08-22-2005 09:14 AM
AMB RC lap counting system t2 tony R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 04-11-2003 08:25 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:12 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net