R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 07-04-2007, 01:43 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default MBX5R as gift

First of all, I'm brand new to nitro racing. My wife just bought me a MBX5R as a gift. Didn't realize I needed so much "accessories" (pipe, starter box, batteries, charger, etc) to complete a nitro kit. A friend of mine says a roto engine would fit (thus eliminating the starter box and other things associated with it. Not to mention a roto is cheaper). I don't want to invest on an expensive bump start engine just yet. Can anyone recommend a roto start engine that will fit? Thanks. Tim
ilovemytacoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 02:05 PM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

Tim, a roto start won't fit because the engine mount needs to be higher, I don't know if anyone makes taller mounts for the mbx5r, since it is a race bred car.

There are many engines out there that won't break the bank.

NovaRossi N21BF 2000, OS VG, Axe Rossi Mamba, and Werks B3 pro are all $200 and more than enough power for a beginner and even seasoned drivers alike. These motors are all easy to tune due to their mild power bands and will last a good while if taken care of.

As for a pipe, the Jammin JP3 is a great pipe for the money

Starter boxes, well, only one comes to mind and that is the mugen box, yeah at $100 it's not cheap, but it will be the last one you will buy.

A roto start will give you more headaches than what you think.
o.s. power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 02:09 PM   #3
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Send a message via AIM to MADMAN23

i won't get a roto start even if it fit....
MADMAN23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 02:12 PM   #4
Tech Rookie