R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2007, 02:45 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Rookie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 179
Default XXX-NT motor question

Is there any way I can put an SG style shaft with a slide carb motor in my XXX-NT?

Thanks!
Rookie01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 02:37 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
El Pedro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have an AD2 and the kit comes with linkages for both slide and rotarty carbs. No sure about the SG shaft though. I would think it would be easier to just get a rotay/threaded enigne though.
El Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 02:41 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Rookie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 179
Default

Thanks for the answer!

Im asking this because I already have a old motor from my Serpent 710.
I was hoping to put this one since its only for bashing.

Pascal
Rookie01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 07:05 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Rookie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 179
Default

Anyone put an SG shaft on a XXX-NT?
Rookie01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 08:37 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
rushdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rushdude
Default

I dont think its possible without getting a custom nut for the flywheel.
rushdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 12:08 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

With enough machine work and ingenuity, you can do almost anything with an R/C car.

With that said, you cannot install an SG crank in a XXX-NT truck with off-the-shelf parts (that I know of).
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 05:26 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 45
Default

since the gt2 uses a sg shaft you might be able to use the flywheel nut from it. not sure, just a guess.
T Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 06:49 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The flywheel nut isn't the problem, it's finding the right clutch bell and flywheel to line up with the XXX-NT drivetrain without too much chassis mods.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 08:43 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
shady3031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I showed up at the track the other day with xxx-nt, but needed a motor. One of the guys that runs a mst-1 had a novarossi with an sg shaft and a rotary carb, along with some kind of offset motor mounts and with a little shimming we awere able to line the motor up good enough to run 3 five minute qual. and finish second in the main. So it can be done.
shady3031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 08:52 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 45
Default

what flywheel did you use?
T Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 01:21 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Rookie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shady3031 View Post
I showed up at the track the other day with xxx-nt, but needed a motor. One of the guys that runs a mst-1 had a novarossi with an sg shaft and a rotary carb, along with some kind of offset motor mounts and with a little shimming we awere able to line the motor up good enough to run 3 five minute qual. and finish second in the main. So it can be done.

Did you use the MST-1 flywheel and clutch?
Rookie01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 08:45 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
shady3031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie01 View Post
Did you use the MST-1 flywheel and clutch?
Yes we were using the mst-1 clutch setup and flywheel and if it matters the engine was a T-12. Hope this helps!!
shady3031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 02:01 AM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Rookie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 179
Default

Thank you very much! I will give this a try.

Pascal
Rookie01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor Question RoseTuned Electric On-Road 5 09-27-2007 11:50 AM
Motor+ESC question SPO Electric On-Road 2 08-29-2006 05:29 PM
Motor fan question ChadCapece Electric On-Road 7 04-07-2005 10:09 AM
Motor Question RaceFan3 Electric On-Road 7 11-18-2004 12:19 PM
question about motor for ipc esc mf2rcr Electric Off-Road 2 08-11-2004 03:22 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:12 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net