R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2007, 08:49 AM   #31
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

3v/cell is the minimum. You'll need the one that say's it's for Futaba or Airtronics. It's the same pack. Go to A-Main and see what they have. Probbly get a inexpensive one there.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 08:52 AM   #32
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Sorry for the double post.....

I have a king power 2500mAh in my 3PKS and I love the weight. It keeps the radio balanced. I'm not terribly worried about the weight issue as I'm a grown man. Holding my radio for an hour at a time isn't a big deal.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 06:30 PM   #33
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plano, Tx
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

go lipo in your radio first. I got the common sense made for the Futaba 3pks and am going on about 4 full race nights without having to charge it. I have lipo for my reciever battery also and hope it blows up in a big ball of fire during a race.
yourtxlender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 12:49 PM   #34
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Hey guys, does anybody know the C-rating on the HT batteries HT500 starter box lipo?

TIA
nu2losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 04:02 PM   #35
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Townsville
Posts: 419
Default

I dont know why more companies dont use lithium ion rather than lipo, i run lithium ions in my planes, less volatile than lipo...
Loop&Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 06:25 PM   #36
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loop&Roll View Post
I dont know why more companies dont use lithium ion rather than lipo, i run lithium ions in my planes, less volatile than lipo...

i had been told this aswell...it also makes me wonder why they dont....maby a size issue ? or are they just as small ?
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 07:44 PM   #37
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Independence Missouri
Posts: 36
Default

going to buy a lipo for my starter box i am planing on useing a ice charger when chargng with the ice do you plug in to battery connection or find a plug that fits the balance port
losiboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 09:12 PM   #38
Tech Master
 
TonysScrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nu2losi View Post
Hey guys, does anybody know the C-rating on the HT batteries HT500 starter box lipo?

TIA
Charge it at 1.0 amps.

Best regards,
__________________
Tony P.

Tonys Screws LLC
http://www.tonysscrews.com
High Grade Alloy Steel Screws, Screw Kits and Mugen Parts
TonysScrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 07:09 AM   #39
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losiboy View Post
going to buy a lipo for my starter box i am planing on useing a ice charger when chargng with the ice do you plug in to battery connection or find a plug that fits the balance port


no u charge through the Power wires......the Only time u plug in the balancing port is when u actually have a apprppriate Balance charger that matches ur battery and u want to balance the cell's.....Tony quick question....what would u charge a 3300mah lipo TX battery at ? its a Protec btw....3.3A ?
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 07:17 PM   #40
Tech Rookie
 
Steve Torrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default lipo charging

Check out www.commonsenserc.com, there is some valuable information about charging and safety .
Steve Torrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 08:19 AM   #41
Tech Master
 
bigjerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pasadena Tx
Posts: 1,134
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default lipo's

Im running common sense batteries 1500 in receiver and 2800 in radio {m-11}useing there charger and voltage regulator also never had any issues there cheaper than any one out there
bigjerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question on lipo pack for a receiver charlesd Nitro On-Road 11 06-07-2008 11:53 AM
Looking for JR receiver and lipo pack baj2374 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 05-08-2008 11:51 AM
Receiver pack lipo or not Mike Elam Nitro Off-Road 7 03-18-2008 10:58 PM
lipo receiver pack and charger infrontofu R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 03-07-2008 09:54 AM
LIPO receiver battery pack? surreal Rookie Zone 3 10-03-2006 09:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:26 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net