R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 06-11-2007, 06:07 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default Novice Dad Needs Advice

I have a nine year old son who's birthday is on Wednesday and can't make my mind up on what brand or model of the 1/8th scale buggy. I started him on RTR Traxxas Stampede truck at Christmas. He loved it but it can't clear the doubles or big jumps at the local tracks. I then made a huge mistake and got him a Sportwerks Raven RTR. It literally when around the track a total of 30 times before it had to go into the shop.

It was a real piece of junk. He now wants an 1/8th scale buggy for his birthday. The local shop carries the RTR Losi8, and two RTR Sportwerks buggies that are between 3-4 hundred dollars. I am a novice but am inclined to go ahead a spend the money on the Losi instead on going the Sportwerks way.

Can anybody help me out I have until Friday and the local shops don't carry Kyosho or other types. They have Traxxas, Losi and Sportwerks. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. IT'S A LOT OF MONEY FOR ME BUT I AM A SINGLE FATHER AND THAT IS WHAT HE WANT'S.

Thanks in advance.

Bhard888

Bhard888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:27 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rezenclowd3

I would say the Losi 8, but because it is so popular, parts can be hard to come by once in a while. Although I know it will be supported by many shops for quite a while...

For RTR vehicles, the stock servos are weak on all the vehicles you posted. Also, if the throttle servo is not setup just right, you may have problems burning out the servo motor (with the Losi 8)
rezenclowd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:29 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bhard888 View Post