R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2007, 04:05 AM   #5251
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 367
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nay0k
Default

Not totally sure what you were trying to say, but generally after an oil change you should push the shaft up and let it come down on it's own. If it comes down halfway, you're good to go.
Nay0k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 06:14 AM   #5252
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Miskolczi View Post
Briguy and KC- Do you guys have an 8ight buggy? Or are you just moderating? LOL

Not that it`s any of your business , but yes I have two 8ights .
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 02:49 AM   #5253
Tech Elite
 
freefallmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I wonder how that Pro Built 8 drive's out of the box?
freefallmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 03:23 AM   #5254
Tech Elite
 
Brian Miskolczi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,524
Trader Rating: 154 (100%+)
Default

Sensitive.

Ive been running the front camber link in the lower hole and it has worked out very well. Anyone who hasn't tryed it should try it out.

ANyone have a setup for there 8ight on a super high bite clay track?
__________________
l TLR l OS SPEED l RADIOPOST l PROLINE l NITROTANE l HORIZON HOBBY l HOBBYWING/FALCON SEKIDO l VENOM l UPGRADE RC l SMC BATTERIES l PCDRC GRAFFIX l GMK SUPPLY l OGIO l 4C HOBBY SUPPLY l
Brian Miskolczi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 04:05 AM   #5255
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 367
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nay0k
Default

Brian, I guess you're talking about B&J? The stock setup actually works well there minus ride height changes. Perhaps 3k in the front diff would work because I remember I couldn't really slide my car around every turn. Then again that's not my driving style anyway.
Nay0k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 11:08 AM   #5256
Tech Apprentice
 
robsxxxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Default

is anyone using the losi lipo and there charger in there 8ight? how do you like them? good product or should i find somthing else?
__________________
AE FT TC5
Losi 8ight B
Losi 8ight T
Losi XXX MF2
AE FT T4
Tamiya 415 MSX
Losi JRXS
Losi XXXS
robsxxxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 01:02 PM   #5257
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Rob, we are running the Losi Lipos in both Derek's 8ights and his 8ight T. They have worked great and the regulator is nice and small. I put the regulator in the rx box with the Spektrum micro rx and there was plenty of room. Just be sure the wrap the battery in as much foam as possible and I put a piece of Lexan in the bottom of the battery box over the battery box screw boss to protect the battery from being worn dented by it.
gasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 07:10 PM   #5258
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kissimmee,Fl.
Posts: 4,887
Trader Rating: 15 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to W.E.D.Jim
Default

I just saw a guy at the local hobby store that had a Lipo receiver battery catch on fire. Scary, total loss.

Make sure not to over discharge the pack!



...Jim
W.E.D.
__________________
www.wedjim.com ...Closed down due to heavy work load I couldn't keep up with and maintain my primary job. But I'm still painting, just not with 40+ bodies waiting. :)
www.prolineracing.com
www.HarleyDavidson.com
"Nothing but the best!"
W.E.D.Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 07:24 PM   #5259
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,585
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to micrors4guy
Default

jim- over discharging a lipo pack will not cause it to burst into flames. However over chargeing it will. or chargeing a pack after it has been over discharged can cause it to happen buy not likely unless he is useing a cheap charger. also If the screw in the radio box punctred the cells that could have caused the fire.
micrors4guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 11:18 PM   #5260
Tech Apprentice
 
robsxxxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Default

well i think i will go with the losi lipo's then. are you guy's using the losi regulator with the switch or the one without? i usually don't use a switch just plug the reciever pack in.
__________________
AE FT TC5
Losi 8ight B
Losi 8ight T
Losi XXX MF2
AE FT T4
Tamiya 415 MSX
Losi JRXS
Losi XXXS
robsxxxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 05:51 AM   #5261
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 731
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Does the Losi Lipo battery or regulator have a lipo cut-off function so you cant over discharge it?
buckeye-mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 05:59 AM   #5262
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lincoln Park-Chicago
Posts: 881
Default

I already have a li-po charger and an Apache 505 external balancer. Since the Losi li-po has the 3 wire balancing lead will this work with my balancer?
satoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 06:11 AM   #5263
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Red face

You need to check the connector. Losi needs to get on the ball with these connectors!
TEX
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 06:41 AM   #5264
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Rob we are running the regulator without the switch.
gasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 10:01 PM   #5265
Tech Regular
 
El Pedro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone got a race roller yet? If so is there anything I will need to fix out of the box? I assume that the original bugs would be fixed in the race roller.
El Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losi 8ight Clutch building Cvdiver Nitro Off-Road 3 05-21-2008 04:47 AM
Team Losi 8ight Buggy with Brushless Setup RcOneNitro R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-20-2008 06:04 PM
losi 8ight-t package f/t for brushless lipo setup ColeT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-02-2008 11:17 AM
Losi 8ight-t setup F/s ColeT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-11-2008 08:51 PM
OS .21 V-spec Cluth Setup on Losi 8ight? RcOneNitro Nitro Off-Road 6 09-03-2007 01:07 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:05 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net