R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-08-2007, 05:58 PM   #4756
Tech Regular
 
KForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

they are really a whole 28grams lighter? 2oz is alot of weight really 1/8 of a pound.

could you post the actual weight of them.
__________________
Team TQ Fuel

OS Speed Engines
Futaba
Panther Tires

CRCRC Raceway Webmaster
FullThrottle Raceway Webmaster
KForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 05:58 PM   #4757
Tech Regular
 
KForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

double
__________________
Team TQ Fuel

OS Speed Engines
Futaba
Panther Tires

CRCRC Raceway Webmaster
FullThrottle Raceway Webmaster
KForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 06:47 PM   #4758
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 132
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

That is what I was told by the hobby store when they came in.
dhickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 06:53 PM   #4759
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 132
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

If you look at them there is alot more milled out plus the rear is shorter in the top middle section.I will weigh them when I get home on Friday, that does seem like alot.
dhickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 11:03 PM   #4760
Tech Regular
 
KForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

cool 2oz would almost make me buy them lol!
__________________
Team TQ Fuel

OS Speed Engines
Futaba
Panther Tires

CRCRC Raceway Webmaster
FullThrottle Raceway Webmaster
KForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 05:02 AM   #4761
Tech Elite
 
freefallmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

That would be a drastic diffrence in weight! Let us know.
freefallmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 06:02 AM   #4762
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Cool

That is a lot of weight. And, from that high of a position on the car, it may cause you some issues on the track......
Would be interesting to see. Right now, my car is 10 to 20 grams over the minimum weight in the rules. I have added 20 grams to the rear of the car for handling purposes. It worked very well.
Let us know how it goes.
TEX
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 06:03 AM   #4763
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Thumbs up

Carl,
We had 5 heats Tuesday night. Very cool.
Heard you did well last time you were out.
TEX
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 06:50 AM   #4764
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

For those who use lipo and regulator, where are you putting the voltage regulator? When I put mine inside the RX box, it is very cramped. It will fit but it's too cramped IMO. I spend about 45 minutes putting the radio trays together. Just wondering if anyone puts them above the P/T mount or on one of the radio tray lids?

Or is anyone shortening the servo leads? I can't get to the circuit boards on some servos to do this. I have shortened the leads on a couple of my fried servos to do a little test fitting. Much better and faster having so much less wiring in there. I have a steering servo that has 8" of lead. That wiring is really packed in there with the on/off switch, regulator, RX, leads, ugghhh.

Any ideas? Thanx. I need to spend less time putting it together, but it's not like I have it apart once a week. About once a month to clean dust out of the electronics
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 06:55 AM   #4765
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Thumbs up

Air8-
I run my regulator outside on the radio tray where my on/off switch used to be. I don't run on/off switches any more at all.
I plug my batt directly into my reg. I unplug it to turn it off and to charge it.
Less failure points and weight this way.
On/off switches blow!
My 2 cents,
TEX
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 06:59 AM   #4766
Tech Elite
 
freefallmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tex1 View Post
Carl,
We had 5 heats Tuesday night. Very cool.
Heard you did well last time you were out.
TEX
That's awsome. Ill be there next tues. I was visiting with famly this week. I did pretty good last week. Had alot of fun. I drove the piss out of the GT2. Thank's for letting me use your tool's,so i could get it going.
freefallmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 07:03 AM   #4767
Tech Regular
 
KForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

i run a novak reg. i put it directly in my batt box and run the switch out the back of the box and glued it. fits nice and snug just like you want really so your stuff doesn't move around.

on the towers...taking weight off the top of the car would be a good thing. if needed add the weight back at chassis level lowering overall CG.
__________________
Team TQ Fuel

OS Speed Engines
Futaba
Panther Tires

CRCRC Raceway Webmaster
FullThrottle Raceway Webmaster
KForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 08:28 AM   #4768
Tech Regular
 
SlobbaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 423
Default

Yeah an ounce is definately A LOT of weight that the shop owner told you...especially when the part basically looks the same except for surface/appearance changes. So I just weighed a F/R shock tower, the front was 1.2oz, the rear was 1.7oz......they were 8ight-T truggy shock towers.
__________________
Hot Bodies, HPI, Novak Electronics, JR Propo, Lunsford, Skipgear.com, Planet R/C, Vinyl Graphics Unlimited, JConcepts, B-Mods Racing, CRCRC, King's R/C Raceway, Avid R/C, GMK Supply, & Pacific Coast Hobbies.
SlobbaTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 10:07 AM   #4769
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greensburg, PA
Posts: 1,563
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I run a ProTek regulator in the radio box beside a Spektrum micro RX. I have plenty of room for excess wire and I'm still able to stuff some foam inside to keep things tight and secure.
ridgewaybodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 11:08 AM   #4770
Tech Elite
 
freefallmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Just out of curiosity, how many of you run a modded motor? Even if you dont have one on the buggy now, but have it ready to be used count's.
freefallmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losi 8ight Clutch building Cvdiver Nitro Off-Road 3 05-21-2008 04:47 AM
Team Losi 8ight Buggy with Brushless Setup RcOneNitro R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-20-2008 06:04 PM
losi 8ight-t package f/t for brushless lipo setup ColeT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-02-2008 11:17 AM
Losi 8ight-t setup F/s ColeT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-11-2008 08:51 PM
OS .21 V-spec Cluth Setup on Losi 8ight? RcOneNitro Nitro Off-Road 6 09-03-2007 01:07 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:00 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net