R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2007, 02:40 PM   #3976
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 20
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wlfgnggtr View Post
I have my own step stool built in as well... try 6'8" No problems seeing over the other drivers Feel sorry for the guys standing next to me though...
Come on?? you are that tall wlf? Holy shite. I have a cousin thats 6'9", one tall dude. I am the shortest male of the family at 6'2", there are some females in my family that are taller than me, so I guess that would make me the runt, LOL.
claudacio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:22 PM   #3977
Tech Addict
 
joecool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 502
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default throttle servo issue

hey guys. i have been running my losi 8ight for a few outdoor races so far this year. i just blew a high end throttle servo Ko Propo 2368 and i know it was set up perfectly. endpoints are good and so is all the linkages. i cut the spring and ball cup and run little brake. im going to take a picture and post my set up so you can see more clearly but i think i found a problem i do not know how to fix.

the retainer with the set scew on the throttle arm is rubbing on my servo when the chassis flexes. i know this cause i can see little rub marks. its like the height of the arm is not high enough to clear the servo case. i really don't want to do this but i am thinking of shaving my servo case to make clearance. i hate to do dremel work on a $135 servo. any other ideas? i will have pics up soon to better illustrate the ordeal.
joecool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:25 PM   #3978
Tech Addict
 
joecool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 502
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

by the way i wanted to say whats up to claudicio and tex. i see you two on all the forums. i even battled you for the 8ight T in the raffle. claudicio is pretty lucky.
joecool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:25 PM   #3979
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,585
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to micrors4guy
Default

joe if you blew that servo then everything isnt set up perfect. i am running the same servo in mine and have been since the car came out with no problem at all. If you are seeing rubbing from the set screw rotate that to where the set screw is facing upward.
micrors4guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:38 PM   #3980
Tech Elite
 
cornerspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecool View Post
hey guys. i have been running my losi 8ight for a few outdoor races so far this year. i just blew a high end throttle servo Ko Propo 2368 and i know it was set up perfectly. endpoints are good and so is all the linkages. i cut the spring and ball cup and run little brake. im going to take a picture and post my set up so you can see more clearly but i think i found a problem i do not know how to fix.

the retainer with the set scew on the throttle arm is rubbing on my servo when the chassis flexes. i know this cause i can see little rub marks. its like the height of the arm is not high enough to clear the servo case. i really don't want to do this but i am thinking of shaving my servo case to make clearance. i hate to do dremel work on a $135 servo. any other ideas? i will have pics up soon to better illustrate the ordeal.
You can raise the throttle servo arm up over the servo by installing a shim in-between the servo arm and tip of the gear shaft.
cornerspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:39 PM   #3981
Moderator
 
yfzrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to yfzrider
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecool View Post
hey guys. i have been running my losi 8ight for a few outdoor races so far this year. i just blew a high end throttle servo Ko Propo 2368 and i know it was set up perfectly. endpoints are good and so is all the linkages. i cut the spring and ball cup and run little brake. im going to take a picture and post my set up so you can see more clearly but i think i found a problem i do not know how to fix.

the retainer with the set scew on the throttle arm is rubbing on my servo when the chassis flexes. i know this cause i can see little rub marks. its like the height of the arm is not high enough to clear the servo case. i really don't want to do this but i am thinking of shaving my servo case to make clearance. i hate to do dremel work on a $135 servo. any other ideas? i will have pics up soon to better illustrate the ordeal.
You could also grind a flat spot on the bottom of that retainer so there is more clearence.
yfzrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 08:07 PM   #3982
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 45
Default

the washers used to change the height of the ballstuds on the ad2 and losi electric's fits inside the servo horn adapter and will raise the servo horn .030". if you take it the servo horn off of the servo a lot you might want to ca the ballstud washer inside the adapter.
T Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:25 PM   #3983
Tech Addict
 
joecool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 502
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

here is a pic. i know now that this has to be the killer of my servo. i love ko propo servos and would never say they they are junk.
Attached Thumbnails
Losi 8ight building and setup-pict0028.jpg  
joecool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 11:06 PM   #3984
Tech Elite
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rezenclowd3
Default

Ya that looks like a problem. I had the same problem with my airtronics 358. I added a 2mm plastic shim that I found from a kit under the servo arm, but before the insert. I CA'd it into place so I never lose it.
rezenclowd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 11:25 PM   #3985
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Yep, same problem when I had an Air 357 too. Like Rezen said, I added a washer and problem solved.
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 01:20 AM   #3986
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 156
Default

who all has ordered the infamous team losi starter box? I have and only 8 more day to go YIPEE!!!
vroom88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 01:38 AM   #3987
Tech Master
 
trebor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,338
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecool View Post
here is a pic. i know now that this has to be the killer of my servo. i love ko propo servos and would never say they they are junk.
Yep, same problem for me with a 359, havent had problem since.
__________________
Feedback
[url]http://rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=153173&highlight=trebor[/url]
trebor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 01:43 AM   #3988
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Is there a noticeable difference in servo performance when switching to LiPos? I decided to make the switch since my RX packs were getting kind of old. Got the voltage regulator too. I don't know if I'm supposed to use it. I have heard that some servos don't need regulated. Any truth to that? Or do all servos need regulated?
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:51 AM   #3989
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Post

You should use the regulator.
It will put out a constant voltage below what the LiPo pack puts out but above what a HiMh pack can do. At full charge my LiPo puts out 8.4V and my Reg puts out 6.4V. At nominal the reg just runs at 6.4 V all the time. This means my servos stay nice and consistant for over an hour. Also I'm not hitting the servos hard with excessive voltage. My regulator provides a low voltage indication as well.
TEX
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 05:22 AM   #3990
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,846
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecool View Post
here is a pic. i know now that this has to be the killer of my servo. i love ko propo servos and would never say they they are junk.
You could also flip the hardware on that side of the arm so it's on top of the arm.
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losi 8ight Clutch building Cvdiver Nitro Off-Road 3 05-21-2008 04:47 AM
Team Losi 8ight Buggy with Brushless Setup RcOneNitro R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-20-2008 06:04 PM
losi 8ight-t package f/t for brushless lipo setup ColeT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-02-2008 11:17 AM
Losi 8ight-t setup F/s ColeT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-11-2008 08:51 PM
OS .21 V-spec Cluth Setup on Losi 8ight? RcOneNitro Nitro Off-Road 6 09-03-2007 01:07 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:07 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net