R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2007, 07:46 AM   #1936
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Talking Hey guys

Hey guys I have a relly quick question. Ok when I go to adjust the droop on my 8ight when do I need to like what signs will I see when I am racing that I need to adjust it. Also to put more droop in you tighten the screw right, and to take droop out you loosen it. Also for the back droop do I just want to have it with no droop and what about the front, this is to like start out with then I can go from there. Ok maybe it was a few quick question . Thanks again this website is awesome you guys are always there if I am asking a question.
JOSH K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 07:49 AM   #1937
Tech Addict
 
jland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 669
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mremtr
If your wasting throttle servos you must have something a miss . I have never lost a throttle servo , they wear out before they ever break! Your linkage and endpoint set-up is EVERYTHING ! be sure to check to see if your radio isn't messing up and over throwing at random ! I have had this issue before when running a Futaba radio ,I now run KO Propo ,much better.
Yeh, I checked everything 4 or 5 times and I understand the end-point thing. I am just kind of pissed off. This was the first throttle servo I burned up after only 8 tanks and I thought I had everything right. I spent alot of time setting it up to what I thought was correct. Oh well 1 more try. I am sure everyone is sick hearing about this throttle servo thing. I guess just user error. Sorry to vent.
jland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 08:52 AM   #1938
Tech Elite
 
SupermaxxRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinWZP
Rich-
Those look perfect!! I'm ordering mine asap....I'll let him know you sent me.

That's the Mugen box....right?

I've been using the Team Magic box but I think I might switch over to the Mugen.

How do you have your box set up? I think I see some grinding work near the wheel. Did those two different pegs come with the box or are you using something aftermarket? Batteries?

I'm currently using the X5 with two Venom 4600s and it works well but I'm having durability issues with the wheel and one of the belts.

THANKS!!
Get the Mugen box, its the only one to get! Box is all stock and I have a Lipo in it Gotta run but will post some pics of it later.

kyracer, no copying my paint scheme Chromepickle painted my body and he's awesome!
__________________
Proudly Sponsored by:

-HB Racing-Pro Line Racing-OS Speed-MKS Servos-VP Race Fuel-Hobbywing-SANWA-J&T Bearings-Tony Screws
SupermaxxRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 08:56 AM   #1939
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Talking Josh

Droop is the down travel your suspension will have beyond ride height. When you lift the car from ride height it is the total throw until the wheels come off the ground.
Less droop will help in high bite situations. More droop will increase traction and will help on hard landing areas.
You should have a little less droop in the front than in the rear. Do not dial it all the way out.
If you need a little more steering going into (slowing down into) a turn then add a little rear droop. It will help the car transfer to the nose where you need the traction.
If you have too much droop you can high center and traction roll. Too little and you will bounce all over the place.

Hope this helps some.
TEX
__________________
www.indyrcworld.net
Indy RC World 2.0 - Garland, TX
T&T RC Cars - Plano, TX
(972) 271-4844
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 09:01 AM   #1940
Tech Adept
 
weezer23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 144
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I know some will laugh but I run a jr 590 high torque (wrapped in heat tape) on throttle/br on my eight and it works awsome. Its setup just like the pics on page 42 or whatever page and epa is set correct and Ive been through half a gallon without a glitch. I really dont see the need for a digital on the thr/br, i guess its just a preference thing but I think the digitals on throttle are more reluctant to blow because of their constant load and how precise the linkage/epa etc has to be. Everyone I race with says there is no need for digital on thr/brk but I know some on here will disagree. the 590 works perfect on thr/brk, and its cheap, just my two cents.
weezer23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 09:45 AM   #1941
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 357
Default



J/K
kyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 10:45 AM   #1942
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,822
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
I know some will laugh but I run a jr 590 high torque (wrapped in heat tape) on throttle/br on my eight and it works awsome. Its setup just like the pics on page 42 or whatever page and epa is set correct and Ive been through half a gallon without a glitch. I really dont see the need for a digital on the thr/br, i guess its just a preference thing but I think the digitals on throttle are more reluctant to blow because of their constant load and how precise the linkage/epa etc has to be. Everyone I race with says there is no need for digital on thr/brk but I know some on here will disagree. the 590 works perfect on thr/brk, and its cheap, just my two cents.
That makes two of us!
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 12:21 PM   #1943
Tech Master
 
RBMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Clara CA
Posts: 1,264
Default

I'm using a hi-tech 925MG on throttle, 5 gallons no issues.
RBMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 04:31 PM   #1944
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,822
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

New Lid:

R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 04:33 PM   #1945
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by weezer23
I know some will laugh but I run a jr 590 high torque (wrapped in heat tape) on throttle/br on my eight and it works awsome. Its setup just like the pics on page 42 or whatever page and epa is set correct and Ive been through half a gallon without a glitch. I really dont see the need for a digital on the thr/br, i guess its just a preference thing but I think the digitals on throttle are more reluctant to blow because of their constant load and how precise the linkage/epa etc has to be. Everyone I race with says there is no need for digital on thr/brk but I know some on here will disagree. the 590 works perfect on thr/brk, and its cheap, just my two cents.
I run a z590 also in throttle and it works great. It is good and it is pretty cheap so if it breaks I am not out $115.00 plus I have like 6 extra from my lst2 so I am good
losi8ight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 04:38 PM   #1946
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by tex1
Droop is the down travel your suspension will have beyond ride height. When you lift the car from ride height it is the total throw until the wheels come off the ground.
Less droop will help in high bite situations. More droop will increase traction and will help on hard landing areas.
You should have a little less droop in the front than in the rear. Do not dial it all the way out.
If you need a little more steering going into (slowing down into) a turn then add a little rear droop. It will help the car transfer to the nose where you need the traction.
If you have too much droop you can high center and traction roll. Too little and you will bounce all over the place.

Hope this helps some.
TEX
Thanks TEX1 very much I really appriciate it alot. Now I have one more question for anybody on here when do I know I need to adjust swaybar front a rear like what simptoms will I see. Thanks guys for all your help I really appriciate it.
JOSH K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 04:43 PM   #1947
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Talking ok

Ok I have one more question about the droop I set my front droop at about where you can see 2 threads of the screw and my rear with about 3 1/2 threads. Now the rear tires on the car are supposed to be lower than the front right.
JOSH K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 05:11 PM   #1948
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
Default

Any of you guys know where I can find one of those Mugen 1/8 scale off road boxes in stock? I've been searching EVERYWHERE.

I just shreaded a belt on my TM X5 and I need a backup ASAP
JustinWZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 06:13 PM   #1949
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Talking Hey guys

Hey guys I asked some new questions above like, when do I know when I need ot adjust my swaybar, what I am trying to say is like what simptoms will I see and what do I need to adjust front or rear like what track conditions will i see it in. And I have a nother question how to I adjust antisquat. Thanks you guys again.
JOSH K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 07:22 PM   #1950
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,818
Default

thats a sharp looking buggy. I just installed the new alumunim front steering knuckles. they are nice. you can see a picture of them on our online store.
Homer Allman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losi 8ight Clutch building Cvdiver Nitro Off-Road 3 05-21-2008 04:47 AM
Team Losi 8ight Buggy with Brushless Setup RcOneNitro R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-20-2008 06:04 PM
losi 8ight-t package f/t for brushless lipo setup ColeT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-02-2008 11:17 AM
Losi 8ight-t setup F/s ColeT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-11-2008 08:51 PM
OS .21 V-spec Cluth Setup on Losi 8ight? RcOneNitro Nitro Off-Road 6 09-03-2007 01:07 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:55 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net