R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2007, 08:33 AM   #1771
Tech Addict
 
Steve Walters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Nip this was copied from the S-Gird (Lois) Forum

Quote:
I BOUGHT ONE OF THESE CARBON FIBER SERVO TRAY STIFFENER FROM CAROLINA
RC. IT LOOKS COOL BUT THE HOLES DO NOT LINE UP. I MADE IT WORK WITH
DRILL. IT HAS A THIRD HOLE FOR PT BUT I DID NOT USE IT BECAUSE THE
WIRE COMES OUT RIGHT NEXT TO THE CENTER DIFF AND IT DOES NOT HAVE A
HOLE FOR THE WIRE TO GO STRAIGHT DOWN FOR CLEAN INSTALL. I TURNED IT
AROUND AND MOUNTED BACK WORDS LOOKS OK SORRY NO PICTURE.


http://www.carolinasrc.com/Webstore/...idcategory=518

I'm running the brace from KHZ, but it stiffens the radio tray threw the Throttle servo, not the steering servo too. I really like mine. It helps with some flex to prevent potential cracking of the servo case when landing (Or Crashing) BIG jumps...
__________________
"CVR" Central Valley Raceway (Madera, CA)
Team "WTF" Racing member
TEAM BCE (Product/Field Tester)

X-Ray 808 (Active Diff)
BCE 8X8 Pro Chassis
OS Speed (XCustoms Head Mod)
Hitec 5995TG (S&T)
M11 & Spectrum.
Steve Walters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 09:18 AM   #1772
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 731
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default throttle setup

trying to setup the throttle EPA on my radio, ive have it at about 45-50%.
that seems to be grabbing the brakes good enough.

Are you guys also at about the same on your brake epa?
buckeye-mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 09:46 AM   #1773
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 367
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nay0k
Default

mine is currently set to 28%, yes I know that's extremely low...but I always felt my car would lock up while braking too quickly if I went much higher on the EPA...
Nay0k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 09:47 AM   #1774
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,822
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yup, some of us are even LOWER!

My theory seems to be working. I switched to 5-5-2 to try and get more on power steering. Our track is tight and technical, so getting through it fast can be tough. Raceday is tomorow, so the REAL test begins then. I got a chance to practice last night... I Love This Car...
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 10:49 AM   #1775
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 314
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

When using a Lipo reciever battery pack, do you have to use a voltage regulator, or will the voltage regulator in the reciever handle the extra voltage?
Dale.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 10:55 AM   #1776
Tech Regular
 
SlobbaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 423
Default

Dale...I don't use lipo batteries, so I'm not 100% sure. However I do remember seeing people say they use the Novak regulator for lipo batteries...so I think you might need to get one.
__________________
Hot Bodies, HPI, Novak Electronics, JR Propo, Lunsford, Skipgear.com, Planet R/C, Vinyl Graphics Unlimited, JConcepts, B-Mods Racing, CRCRC, King's R/C Raceway, Avid R/C, GMK Supply, & Pacific Coast Hobbies.
SlobbaTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 11:02 AM   #1777
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

http://www.teamnovak.com/buy/ind_buypgs/5460.html

Something like that one!
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 11:10 AM   #1778
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

Guys i been using lipo for the last 4 months or so now. VXR racing 2000mah pack and there 5amp regulator (You NEED a regulator).

The Novak Reg. is 3amps and i'd say thats under powered in 1/8th ( I thought it was anyways, servo swayed alittle in the corners)

The VXR 5amp is good and that's what i currently use BUT is only compatable with Spektrum + Futaba HRS recievers

Much-More do a 7amp one, available from Amian amoungst other places, I'm trying this out on the weekend. They dont mention any compatability issue's so i guess it'll work with all radio set-ups.

Hope thats of help

Rod
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 11:34 AM   #1779
Tech Master
 
lockmouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: DIRTY SOUTH LOUISIANA
Posts: 1,388
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Much-More do a 7amp one, available from Amian amoungst other places, I'm trying this out on the weekend. They dont mention any compatability issue's so i guess it'll work with all radio set-ups
.

I'm using this MuchMore 7amp regulator and I love it. I gives constant power to my two Hitec 5955 TG servo.

I had the novak one too, but I like the MuchMore regulator better
lockmouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 12:00 PM   #1780
Tech Adept
 
Sean T Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merciless
Oh and looking sweet my friend, Told ya GAS was the way to go.

Shoulda got a Mugen though im loving my 5R we should been doin this when you were over here dude. It's alot a fun

Tried callin ya but got the machine, hopefully i'll geta chance to try again tonight.....

L8rz
Rod ,
I think Justin wouldnt have changed a thing when he was over here. The BTCC was the place to race when he was here and hopefully he enjoyed it as much as I did.
I believe Justin is racing the Losi over there because thats where the competition is in his part of the world.
I will look for his name in the leaderboards when he starts racing this class again and will not be suprised to see him near or at the top of it.
Good luck Dude and see you at the snowbirds
Sean
__________________
Schumacher Racing UK
Team Scream UK
eXpress Motorsports UK
FTQ Models
Sean T Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 12:00 PM   #1781
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckeye-mac
trying to setup the throttle EPA on my radio, ive have it at about 45-50%.
that seems to be grabbing the brakes good enough.

Are you guys also at about the same on your brake epa?
You cant go by what other people have cause all servos will setup different unless its the same exact servo. For example my Hitec 5995 my brake epa was as low as 30 then when I use a 5195 analog it goes up to 60 then If I use my Jr Servos it goes to like 50. But Id say around 50 or less is all you will need for anyone of them depending on how your brake linkage is setup.
__________________
MBX6
X2
O.S. SPEEDs
Hitecs
M11
DSM
and a Retired 8ight.
MonkeyWrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 01:35 PM   #1782
Tech Master
 
Fabulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WI.
Posts: 1,137
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

I have just purchased an 8ight and would like to know what would be a good starter box to use? Anyone using the Team Magic X5 Turbo? Any Suggestions?? Appreciate the help...
Fabulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 01:44 PM   #1783
Tech Addict
 
dirtracer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabulous
I have just purchased an 8ight and would like to know what would be a good starter box to use? Anyone using the Team Magic X5 Turbo? Any Suggestions?? Appreciate the help...
i have a team magic x5 box....it gets the job done and haven't had any issues with it, however, if i was going to buy another one, i'd get the mugen starter box. i believe that most people on here use the mugen box with their 8ight.
__________________
Losi 22
Losi 810-e
Losi SCTE
Losi XXX-MF2/CRC SC
B&T R/C - http://b-treman-rc.valp.net/btrchome.htm
dirtracer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 02:03 PM   #1784
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 367
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nay0k
Default

i have Ofna's True-Start box, but i wouldn't recommend it...i had to dremel part of the chassis by the flywheel away and it still doesn't fit too great...people don't seem to have problems with the Mugen box with their 8ight's it seems though...
Nay0k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 02:35 PM   #1785
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 145
Default

ofna 10256, works great.
xxxtracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losi 8ight Clutch building Cvdiver Nitro Off-Road 3 05-21-2008 04:47 AM
Team Losi 8ight Buggy with Brushless Setup RcOneNitro R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-20-2008 06:04 PM
losi 8ight-t package f/t for brushless lipo setup ColeT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-02-2008 11:17 AM
Losi 8ight-t setup F/s ColeT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-11-2008 08:51 PM
OS .21 V-spec Cluth Setup on Losi 8ight? RcOneNitro Nitro Off-Road 6 09-03-2007 01:07 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net