Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New Savage Owner, Advice appreciated.

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2012, 07:06 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default New Savage Owner, Advice appreciated.

I'm new to nitro and monster trucks. I'm looking to bash this thing over the winter. I need to put in a new engine but am not sure of my options before purchase. The truck has a tired picco .26 in it right now. At the moment I'm leaning towards a dynamite .26 as it has a roto start and is very cheaply priced. It's so cheap I'm nervous about buying it as I don't want to buy a piece of crap that causes me loads of grief. As I'm new to nitro, I'd like to get a new engine that is very easily tuned, that I can bash in cold temps over the winter.
Also, I don't like the fact that there are 8 shocks on this truck. Is there a way I can consolidate to 4 bigger shocks? Anyone know if they make something like that? I am a racer and like to service my shocks often, 8 shocks will double the maintenance time. All advice and any opinions will be appreciated. Thanks for taking a look.
Old 10-20-2012, 12:18 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)

Lrp 28 spec 3 if its a savage x. Lrp spec 2 .30 if its a savage xl. I swear by these engines as i have owned 5 of them in most of my savages. Best bang for ur buck
Old 10-20-2012, 12:25 AM
Tech Champion

The 26 Dynamite is most likely awesome, because afaik it's based on the older Mach 26 and 427 - probably the best engines ever put in an RTR.

The Dynamite Big Red .28 is another SH-based engine which is great value for money. Big Red, LRP Spec 3/Losi 454(they are identical), LRP 30, etc.. - all good..