R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Monster Trucks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-27-2010, 07:29 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 73
Default Savage X 4.6 3-speed and reverse modules?

Hey,
I love my new Savage X 4.6, but would like more speed and reverse. So it is possible to have the 3-speed module and the reverse module installed? Is there enough room for both of them? is it a good idea? will I have to upgrade anything else? I'm getting a DX3S radio so won't need the mixer for the reverse module.

Any suggestions?
snakemau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 03:31 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Uhgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 321
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I have a Savage X 4.6 with the 3 speed in it, it isn't any bigger than the 2 speed. Shouldn't be any issue with adding the reverse module and the 3 speed if the reverse module fits with 2 speed. I recommend putting a 52T spur gear on with the 3 speed, it is a blast.
__________________
Uhgg

HPI Savage X 4.6, Losi LST XXL, Losi LST2, 1/16 Brushless Revo/Slash, Savage XL 5.9, HPI RS4 MT, Losi Mini LST2, Savage XS
Uhgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 10:26 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Rotzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: torrington, ct. u.s.a.
Posts: 22
Default

i have an xl so mine came with the 3 speed. i installed the reverse module in mine. as uhgg said their both the same size. the reverse module fits inside, but i think you could spend your money wiser on a better hop up as the reverse is not really worth it. i wouldnt do it again...
__________________
beyond addicted just plain sick....
Rotzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 11:06 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,185
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to roychan69 Send a message via Yahoo to roychan69 Send a message via Skype™ to roychan69
Default

A reverse enabled Savage is good when you want to 'get out of the trouble' i.e. reverse to make a pass; than walking to your truck...
roychan69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 08:41 AM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
altonamud's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roychan69 View Post
A reverse enabled Savage is good when you want to 'get out of the trouble' i.e. reverse to make a pass; than walking to your truck...
Do you have a savage? The reverse is a waist of time!!Unless you want a trailer queen. DONT waist your money on that hop up!!
altonamud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 06:36 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
vios8820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: RCMOD enterprise
Posts: 2,666
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to vios8820 Send a message via Yahoo to vios8820
Default

i just spend my money and wait my reverses to come.. i abit regert after i read so many bad review. i want to ask if i only reverses slow only... and on full thottle when on forward gear it shall not a issue rite ? that will not kill the gear if i seldom used reverses ?
__________________
My facebook page : www.facebook.com/rcmodmalaysia
Large scale n Baja Part : www.davesmotors.com
016 8607710 SMS, CALL, PM, Wechat , Whatsapp
fei8820@gmail.com
vios8820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 12:09 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,185
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to roychan69 Send a message via Yahoo to roychan69 Send a message via Skype™ to roychan69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by altonamud View Post
Do you have a savage? The reverse is a waist of time!!Unless you want a trailer queen. DONT waist your money on that hop up!!
I have a Savage X that could run and handle as good as a truggy, I shall not list my hop-ups like sway bars, shocks, engine or U-shafts/joints etc...

I HAVE the reverse, and my Futaba 4PK assigned-switch is a joy to use when I want to engage the reverse; you have to get that metal-plate to 'push-in' (engage to forward) properly, it's not what you mentioned difficult to use or waste of money, learn your wrenching skill and go read up...
roychan69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 04:22 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
vios8820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: RCMOD enterprise
Posts: 2,666
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to vios8820 Send a message via Yahoo to vios8820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roychan69 View Post
I have a Savage X that could run and handle as good as a truggy, I shall not list my hop-ups like sway bars, shocks, engine or U-shafts/joints etc...

I HAVE the reverse, and my Futaba 4PK assigned-switch is a joy to use when I want to engage the reverse; you have to get that metal-plate to 'push-in' (engage to forward) properly, it's not what you mentioned difficult to use or waste of money, learn your wrenching skill and go read up...
i feel better after read ur post.. hahahaha so far i belive that reverse only will break if you don't totally stop your car before u switch ur gear...

correct me if i am wrong
__________________
My facebook page : www.facebook.com/rcmodmalaysia
Large scale n Baja Part : www.davesmotors.com
016 8607710 SMS, CALL, PM, Wechat , Whatsapp
fei8820@gmail.com
vios8820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 11:54 AM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 73
Default

Also it seems there are 2 types of 3 speed transmission: the racing one and the regular one (at least based on the HPI website and Tower Hobbies).
snakemau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 02:08 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
cyclone x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gaithersburg MD
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snakemau View Post
Also it seems there are 2 types of 3 speed transmission: the racing one and the regular one (at least based on the HPI website and Tower Hobbies).
are you looking for one
__________________
Chase Chandler
Sponsors:HOTBODIES Express .The Track. Stevo Racing
Cars: VE8, F104 PRO, B4.1, HPI BLITZ, Losi SCTE
cyclone x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 09:52 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,185
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to roychan69 Send a message via Yahoo to roychan69 Send a message via Skype™ to roychan69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vios8820 View Post
i feel better after read ur post.. hahahaha so far i belive that reverse only will break if you don't totally stop your car before u switch ur gear...

correct me if i am wrong
Hahahaha...., Yes you're right, the truck have to be stop completely before you switch to a reverse gear (third servo) via your radio third-channel button/switch.

Everything have to be install correctly; if not, even a 'fool-proof installation guide or method' will fooled us, hahahaha....
roychan69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 03:12 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
vios8820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: RCMOD enterprise
Posts: 2,666
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to vios8820 Send a message via Yahoo to vios8820
Default

yea !!! we have the same thinking gimme 5 **piak** oh dear i hope my reversed module come soooner.. so i going to try it out and let u know.. i used MGT2.0 Reversed because it never overcome issue for me...

mostly i saw alot of reserved module break because of inappropriate uses .. (some people are just can't wait to let the car totally stop and switch the gear and after that pop.. am they blame WTH this XXXXXXXXXing weak reversed module ) every car reversed module break if don't install or used carefully..
__________________
My facebook page : www.facebook.com/rcmodmalaysia
Large scale n Baja Part : www.davesmotors.com
016 8607710 SMS, CALL, PM, Wechat , Whatsapp
fei8820@gmail.com
vios8820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 06:51 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
cyclone x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gaithersburg MD
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...STRK:MESELX:IT
__________________
Chase Chandler
Sponsors:HOTBODIES Express .The Track. Stevo Racing
Cars: VE8, F104 PRO, B4.1, HPI BLITZ, Losi SCTE
cyclone x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 06:12 AM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
wolf16731's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seymour Johnson AFB, NC
Posts: 776
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to wolf16731
Default

I run a 3 speed and reverse in my Savage. Probably one of the better things I have ever done other than a new engine and dual disk brakes. I have had this setup on my Savage for about 3 1/2 years now with no failures because of it.

My recommendation is that if you don't want the mixer, then you need to hold the brake while engaging reverse so you don't ruin it. Then hold the brake until you throw it into forward gear. I use a standard strength servo so to ensure it engages the gear, I let it idle for a second or two to give the servo some time to catch up. So long as you remember that, you should be fine. One nice thing about the mixer is that it forces you to hold the brake in order to switch to reverse and so on. If you are going to race your Savage, you might as well spend your money else where.But ever since the onslaught of the Truggy class, who races these things nowadays?

I race mine from time to time, but it is mainly a basher and isn't my primary class. I just race it for fun against T-Maxx's and such. Its a good ol' time.

Hope this helps! By the way, your Savage should have no problems at all incorporating both the 3 speed tranny and reverse. HPI actually designed the 3 speed that way! With the 3 speed you should be looking at a slight increase of speed and torque at the wheels, but nothing too crazy. Have fun!
__________________
HPI Blitz ESE- Tekin RS; 10.5T
TLR 22SCT- Tekin RS; 8.5T Gen2
HPI MT2SC- HPI .18SS
HPI Savage- Axial .28 1S; currently for sale.
AE SC10 4x4- Tekin RX8; Pro4 4600kV
wolf16731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -8. It is currently 02:27 AM.



SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0