Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Please help with choice

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2009, 04:58 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Please help with choice

I know that this question has bean beat to death but I have a new twist on it. I drive truck over the road, and want a truck that can I can take the frustrations of the road out on. It must be rugged as I can't always get to a lhs (it's hard with a 53' trailer). The lhs at home stocks HPI and AE parts. I'm torn between the Savege 4.6 and Mgt 4.6 (yas I know that I need to move quick to get the Mgt). I've heard good and bad about both. No I don't want electric, yes I was a mechanic so I know haw to work on any vehicle. Yes I have an inverter in my rig so I can charge the recever and transmitter batteries. Please any help would be greatly taken. No I don't want to start an arguement but I suppose that by asking this it's impossible not to. Thanks everyone in advance.
Old 02-26-2009, 07:52 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I only have had experience with the MGT, and it can take a beating. The only things I have broken have been the front shock tower and the body posts, not because they are poorly designed, but because it was 10 degrees out and I decided to hit a car and flip it with no body on and land on the road. There are two recommendations I can make though, if you are going to be doing some serious bashing: a roll cage (the stock handle thing is absolute crap, and you only need this if you run without the body, which I tend to do), and to get a new muffler such as the JP-4, which made it come alive for me.
Old 02-26-2009, 09:11 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

I would go with the HPI Savage because it's very durable
Old 02-26-2009, 09:49 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Get the savage xl. The xl is very quick and can take a beating. If that is too expensive then get the savage 4.6. Both are great trucks.
Old 02-27-2009, 04:08 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)