Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Losi 1/18 Baja Bug

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2011, 12:28 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Losi 1/18 Baja Bug

Hey guys, I am new to this. I am looking to put a brushless system in my Losi 18b and was wondering if the Traxxas Velineon VXL-3M Waterproof 1/16 Scale Brushless Power System would work even though it is 1/16?
Old 11-01-2011, 02:52 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

Yep, that system will work. Your buggy uses a 370/380 size motor and that is the same size as the velineon system.

Ask any questions you have on here, you'll find lots of great info
Old 11-01-2011, 09:27 AM
Tech Rookie

Awesome, Thanks for your help. In your opinion is that a good setup for me if i want to have a waterproof brushless system?
Old 11-05-2011, 11:51 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)

I run a 2040 4120Kv motor in my Mini LST2, and IMO, that is ALMOST too much power for the truck!
I can just imagine the truck with the much larger VXLm motor.
I just have an image in my head of the drivetrain ripping itself apart.
Unless you have done a lot of upgrades to the drivetrain, I would suggest starting with a smaller motor.
You can still use the VXL3M ESC to have waterproof, but try this motor first on the stock gearing(mine was 25/54 when I got it) it's perfect.
You want a heatsink with a fan though.
http://www.hobbypartz.com/96m03-car-2040-4120.html

With that gearing, and that motor on 2S, my MLST reaches speeds faster than a stock Slash 2WD (measured against my dad's Slash)
I wouldn't feel comfortable driving the truck any faster than that, it's really heavy for it's size.
Old 02-24-2012, 10:27 AM
Tech Rookie