Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Micro and Mini Scales
Castle sidewinder Micro or Mamba Micro Pro? >

Castle sidewinder Micro or Mamba Micro Pro?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Castle sidewinder Micro or Mamba Micro Pro?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2010, 09:31 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Castle sidewinder Micro or Mamba Micro Pro?

Which one is better to have in an associated b2 and why? Thanks. I'm new to 1/18th stuff
Old 10-29-2010, 11:36 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

Both have exactly the same features, adjustments, and operation, but the Pro has more power handling capability. I would suggest the Pro if you use any motor more powerful than the Castle 20mm 5400Kv. The Sidewinder is small and compact while the Pro is average size for a mini.
Old 10-30-2010, 04:06 PM
Tech Elite

Power handling is the same for both. They have identical guts. Pro has heat sink, which could help if heating becomes an issue. Might be a factor in heavier cars like the Recoil or Vendetta...
Old 10-30-2010, 05:12 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

i run the sidewinder 6800 in my 18r. its great. compared to the micro pro, all ive herd is the temps are a little lower on the esc (mines only got up to 108) due to the heat sink, i have also herd that the micro pro is a little smoother. mind you the sidewinder is smooth. save the extra money and buy the sidewinder.
Old 11-01-2010, 05:43 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

I dont want to sound like I am arguing, because I dont doubt that the Micro Pro is simply a Sidewinder encased with a fancy heatsink. But, it is important to remember that a major factor in power handling with any electronic device is its ability to dissipate heat faster than it can produce it.