Wiki Posts
Search

Help! Problem with my M18Pro and Losi Xcelorin 7400 ESC

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2009, 11:27 AM
Tech Adept

Default Help! Problem with my M18Pro and Losi Xcelorin 7400 ESC

Hi all!

I am new to this scale (I run 1/8 TT, but here in spain it has been pouring down rain for months now).

Well, a couple of days ago I mounted my brand new M18 Pro with a Brushless combo Losi Xcelorin 7400.

I tested that everything worked fine, with the wheels on the air, and after changing some setups on the ESC (no reverse, accelerate and brake ratios, etc), it went into a cloud of smoke.

Inmediatelly I disconnected everything and went back to the shop where I bought the combo. And they told me that the most probable cause of the problem was that the pinion that I used was to big.

I installed a pinion with 15T, and they say that I should have used 9T. That caused an overheating.

Is this possible? Or the ESC was faulty? I have looked everywhere, and I have not found anybody with that setup. My spur gear is 42T.

The ESC is on his way back to Losi for repair/replacement Crying or Very sad

Thank you in advance!
Old 02-01-2009, 11:31 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

How long did you run it in the air? If it was only a few seconds, are you sure that your battery leads were correct (red to +ve/black to -ve)? Other than that, since it doesn't matter which way the motor leads go, you got a faulty unit. The pinion size is fine, maybe a little big but it should have been ok.
Old 02-01-2009, 11:43 AM
Tech Adept

I run it for no more than 5 secs each time.

The polarity was correct...
Old 02-01-2009, 12:04 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)