Wiki Posts
Search

ELECTRONICS FOR A MICRO?...PLEASE HELP

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2006, 08:49 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
ELECTRONICS FOR A MICRO?...PLEASE HELP

Im not new to rc but i am new to micro. I was wondering, can u use a standard speedo in a micro car? ie. a quantum2 with the standard 1/18 scale motors from trinity or orion etc? or do i have to use a micro specific speedo? any help would be appreciated. thanks.
Old 07-29-2006, 09:17 AM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

As long as it's small enough, then you should have no trouble using it, that's why we've typically used micro-specific ESC's, just the size issue. The only thing one should worry about is using a micro ESC with a bigger car(since most of therm can't handle the amp draw of a serious 540-size motor)....
Old 07-29-2006, 09:48 AM
Tech Adept

Talking

Thanks Grizzbob, i assumed that it would work but wanted to make sure before i fried anything. THANK YOU!
Old 07-29-2006, 10:28 AM
Tech Elite

I allways recomend a 1/10 scale esc. There are plenty available of the same size as the so-called micros. Quatum sport is a good example. nearly identical in size and weight as the Quantum micro, but handles FAR more power! You end up with a more reliable speedo & better performance too.
Old 07-29-2006, 07:14 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)

Gotta agree with Dune on the Quantums. I run a sport in my M18 and it has been flawless. Check Ebay for some used ones cheap.
Old 07-30-2006, 11:12 AM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by Biz_Nessman
Im not new to rc but i am new to micro. I was wondering, can u use a standard speedo in a micro car? ie. a quantum2 with the standard 1/18 scale motors from trinity or orion etc? or do i have to use a micro specific speedo? any help would be appreciated. thanks.