Wiki Posts
Search

4s 6500 ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2010, 01:37 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default 4s 6500 ?

I have a maxamps 4s 6500.I am new to the lipo/brushless and I bought a orion clubman lipo edition not knowing it was seriously underpowered.I have plugged the charger up and put it on balance charge and it balanced the pack out at 3.43 and has charged for like 1.5 hours and doesn't seem to be getting there.It is actually still dropping and has dropped to 3.35 per cell.Is this normal or am I doing something wrong.The charger only goes to 4 amps and is only 50 watts so if I understand correctly that it actually won't charge at 4amps? I do know that I don't need to let the cells drop to low but I am unsure of that number?can anyone help me please
Old 02-10-2010, 03:35 PM
Tech Master

Would suggest you get a new charger that can handle a 4S 6500 like the Hyperion 0720i Net3 or the DUO 3. You can then balance charge the pack at a full 1C rate and even twice that at 2C. The pack should balance out at 4.2 volts per cell and at a 1C charge rate complete in about 80 to 90 minutes.

See the chargers and the recommended 32 amp power supply here:

http://www.maxamps.com/products.php?cat=33

If you have any other questions just ask.

Jason
Old 02-10-2010, 05:25 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)

so is 3.35 per cell to low ?and is it normal to be on there that long and still be dropping even thou it was already balanced out? what is the lowest voltage you want per cell?
Old 02-10-2010, 06:17 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

It will definitely take a long time but it is rated to charge 4S packs and should charge it at about ~3.3A. It will take over 2 hours to charge but there is no reason why it shouldn't charge that pack. When the pack is charged it should be 4.2V per cell.
Old 02-11-2010, 11:13 AM
Tech Adept

i love the 720. got a 20a PS and it charges my 4s 6500 at 2c in the estimated 40 minutes or so...so nice.