R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2006, 01:54 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
Drewdc90's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Digital servos and Bec voltage

I have just purchased a digi coreless servo (Tower pro) that works fine with my Novak GTB. When I run it with my LRP QC2 it seems to lack battery power and not work very well at all. The LRP's Bec is lacking I know but I would like to run the servo with it. Can I wire the power wire from the servo directly to the battery. (7.2volts +) or is there a diode, circuit etc that I can use to take the voltage down to 6volts??
Or is there another cheap alternative to throwing the QC2 in the bin and buying another Novak??
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 02:58 AM   #2
Tech Master
burbs's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,143
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs

I as well as many local guys run digital servos with Q2's all day long.. we run 4 cell to..maybe the esc has an issue.. If anything the servo should work fine until the voltage drops below a certain amount.. but it should work fine off a fresh pack,, like i say ours are only 4.8 volts, and no issues..
HERE IS MY TRADER FEEDBACK ON HOBBYTALK. http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/itrader.php?u=8257
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 03:30 AM   #3
Tech Regular
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 347

with Q2 never had an issue running Futaba 9450/9250 or 9550
Andyg01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 03:35 AM   #4
Tech Addict
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588

You have 4 options.

1. You can use "chip" called LM7806 to bring the voltage down to 6 volts. Or LM7805 to bring the voltage down to 5 volts. http://www.rctech.net/forum/showpost...postcount=1121

2. You can use diode in series from the battery.

3. You can connect the servo directly to the battery. NOT RECOMMENDED.

4. Buy another servo that uses less power.

Alternative to LM7805:
There is also a chip called LM309 in TO3 package. It has better voltage control than the LM7805 and can withstand more current. 7805 = 500 mA, LM309 = >1000 mA.
Then there is LM123 / LM323in TO-3 package = 3000 mA but minumum voltage for LM123 to work is 7.5 volts.

Last edited by andsetinn; 01-30-2006 at 03:52 AM.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Ace Servos, Fioroni Viaio Clutch, voltage regulator weaponx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 08-13-2008 04:27 AM
NiCD/NiMH Voltage vs Lipo Voltage bryanleec Radio and Electronics 10 02-06-2008 05:08 PM
FUTABA Servos Digital Brushless BLS451 and Digital S9351 SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-11-2007 05:18 PM
Hitec 925MG, 625MG servos, digital or non digital Cain R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-09-2007 02:17 PM
Digital servos or not??? THE DOCTOR Nitro On-Road 57 01-17-2006 04:54 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:50 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0