R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Motor and battery upgrade, help? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/998348-motor-battery-upgrade-help.html)

Bob Corey 09-20-2017 04:38 PM

Motor and battery upgrade, help?

Hello. I'm very new to the electric world. I bought an HPI Sprint 2 Sport and after reading a lot of stuff in the "silk purse" thread I still have some questions.

First up, what I wanna do is make it drive as close to a real car (It already does pretty much so) and put an FPV cam on top.

I did a test with my action camera on it but it was kinda heavy for the stock engine and couldn't spin much, So I was wondering if I should upgrade the motor or get driftier tyres. I like the asphalt the most. There are some cheap ones on ebay for 5-7$ four all 4 (wheel, foam, tire) but don't know if they are any good.

So far I'm on the stock NiMh battery and I wanna get some new li-po batteries and the question is how do I know what C rating should I use for this motor? I found some good Gens Ace at 30C. In case in the future I get a stronger motor does this limit my choices? I'm not a super high speed fan, I am mostly aiming for power.

Thank you!

Here is my video test. It won't let me post links yet so copy-paste it:
facebook.com/bob.corey.50/videos/1572829479403971/

Allan_s2rx7 09-21-2017 05:15 AM

Originally Posted by Bob Corey (Post 15034722)

First up, what I wanna do is make it drive as close to a real car (It already does pretty much so) and put an FPV cam on top.

I did a test with my action camera on it but it was kinda heavy for the stock engine and couldn't spin much, So I was wondering if I should upgrade the motor or get driftier tyres. I like the asphalt the most. There are some cheap ones on ebay for 5-7$ four all 4 (wheel, foam, tire) but don't know if they are any good.

Im a Sprint 2 enthusiast and professional amateur modder... lol