Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Battery 101 -------------->>>>>

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2002, 05:19 PM
Tech Adept

Default Battery 101 -------------->>>>>

OK, I am new to R/C. I am going to be getting a TC3 in 2 days. I have a 2400 mAh battery pack and a charger. I see that most people at the local track have made their own battery packs. Some are 3000 mAh and some are 3300 mAh.

I would like to know exactly what I should be using. I want to race my car eventually so I might as well get the right stuff now.

I understand you have to charge them with a charger then when you are done running, you have to discharge them. A 2400 mAh battery pack is discharged differently than a 3000 and 3300 mAh battery pack.

Can someone please explain the basic's of battery's to me and suggest what I should get.

THANKS
Old 10-30-2002, 07:53 PM
Tech Fanatic

first off - welcome to rc racing and your first good choice was starting with a kit like a TC3. Well done!

Batteries - starting out 2400 mah batteries will be more than enough. try not to get caught up in the "battery thing" too much. batteries are the least of your concerns when starting. though they are a important part, concentrate on learning how to drive and learn everything you can about the car. but you asked about batteries........

without going into great details, i suggest visiting SMC's website. www.smc-racing.com they have a complete break down of all batteries. the difference between each cell and their recommended maintenace on each type of cell. (i am not affiliated with SMC, but have visited their site often to see whats new).

And lastly, make sure you ask lots of questions at your local track. one great thing about our hobby is that all of us love to talk about our stuff and are glad to help anyone that comes along. good luck and have fun.

Last edited by TheBarber; 10-30-2002 at 07:57 PM.
Old 10-30-2002, 08:47 PM
Tech Adept

thanks for the help
Old 10-30-2002, 08:54 PM
Tech Adept