R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 07-14-2017, 09:18 AM   #1
LJH
Tech Adept

Default Performance difference between a 17.5 and a 13.5

Hello All,
While pretty well versed in brushless motors for E flight I am a newbie when it comes to BL motors in cars so looking for some guidance.

I have a TT02 that I am running with a old Novak Sport 17.5T motor and a Justock ESC. I have it geared with a FDR of 4.33:1 and it goes alright but being a motor head I wonder if it would be more fun if it was a bit faster. I do like the torque that I get with the 17.5 and I get an easy 15 minutes of duration out of a 4000mah pack.

If I was to switch to a 13.5T motor and gear it appropriately how much of a difference would there be in torque (acceleration) and top end over the 17.5? Any guesses on how much of a hit I would take in duration?

I am not racing, I drive the car 90% of the time on two tennis courts (70' straight?) and set up a little course with field markers. These tennis courts are not all that well used or maintained so the surface is not that sticky.

Thoughts?

Thanks.

Cheers,
Jim
LJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 09:27 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LJH View Post
Hello All,
While pretty well versed in brushless motors for E flight I am a newbie when it comes to BL motors in cars so looking for some guidance.

I have a TT02 that I am running with a old Novak Sport 17.5T motor and a Justock ESC. I have it geared with a FDR of 4.33:1 and it goes alright but being a motor head I wonder if it would be more fun if it was a bit faster. I do like the torque that I get with the 17.5 and I get an easy 15 minutes of duration out of a 4000mah pack.

If I was to switch to a 13.5T motor and gear it appropriately how much of a difference would there be in torque (acceleration) and top end over the 17.5? Any guesses on how much of a hit I would take in duration?