R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2006, 12:55 AM   #16
Tech Elite
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to R/C Anonymous

it went from one month of use to 6 months of use and.....
4200 maH to 4600 maH
Geoff C.
R/C Anonymous is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 01:27 AM   #17
Tech Master
XrayFK's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by envirojay
I've been running my motor on the 3600 mAH for 30 minutes a run with no problems for like half a year.

I get these new batteries and within 2 minutes the motor is smoked!!

Can someone who has actually used these new 4600 mAH reply and tell me their experience with them.
You obviously aren't reading and/or comprehending what people are telling you. So STOP, and read for a second. You can't just keep running a motor, it NEEDS maintenance, which it sounds like it has never gotten. Also heat is a motor's worst enemy, if somehow you are running for 30 minutes then you are overheating the motor and you will ruin it. Especially since you have never changed the brushes or cut the comm (from what it seems). That batteries aren't going to hurt the motor, that's like saying your Honda Civic's engine gave out because you put 91 octane gas in it.
XrayFK is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 01:43 AM   #18
Tech Elite
Turbo Joe's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)

Originally Posted by XrayFK
that's like saying your Honda Civic's engine gave out because you put 91 octane gas in it.
No, that would be like saying that your engine died when you put a larger gas tank in the car.

Gotta keep the analogies accurate. Octane doesn't make you go faster, it keeps fuel from preigniting. More octane would make a stock Civic go slower.
Turbo Joe is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 01:52 AM   #19
Tech Addict
Nathan Parker's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 674

Originally Posted by envirojay

The first time I try these new batteries I burn up. And I could smell something funny after just 2 minutes. So there has to be a problem with these packs?
If you Smelt something funning after 2 minutes don`t you think you should of stopped to investigate?

Batteries would not cause this problem
Nathan Parker is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:02 AM   #20
Tech Adept
pookat's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: u.k.
Posts: 112
I think we have established it's NOT THE BATTERY'S FAULT.

However I have a question. If you had 30 minutes runtime, why the hell did you feel the need to get higher capacity batteries?

Surely you need the money for tyres
pookat is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:13 AM   #21
Tech Elite
STEALTH's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Manila & California
Posts: 3,019
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

SOLUTION: Ditch your Brushed Motor and go BRUSHLESS!
STEALTH is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:24 AM   #22
Tech Regular
x-ray=speed's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mate I'm on fire today
Posts: 371

This guy is taking the pyss out of us, just get the car and drive it into a big wall problem fixed lol
x-ray=speed is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:00 AM   #23
Tech Regular
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458

how the hell do you get 30minutes from a pack? i only run a 540Johnson motor and it can only get about 12minutes from a 3800pack
XingXing is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:04 AM   #24
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Those how have used the new 4200mAH packs say "Aye"

Wow I never thought I'd get so many replies this post

Anyways I'm still a bit pissed about my batteries wrecking my motor.

I guess the voltage of the new batteries is higher than the ones I've been using so it pooched the motor.

There sure are alot of people on this board who like to infer and make assumptions instead of dealing with facts.

Fact the batteries must put out more voltage therefore thats why my motor got smoked.

No its not like a new gas tank
And yes it has everything to do with the new battery

They should tell you that these batteries put out more volts before you buy them. Could save alot of people the pain of losing a motor.

Over and Out

envirojay is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:25 AM   #25
Tech Regular
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458

thats what you get when you try cheat and use two extra cells
XingXing is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:37 AM   #26
Tech Fanatic
Kail's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Originally Posted by XingXing
how the hell do you get 30minutes from a pack? i only run a 540Johnson motor and it can only get about 12minutes from a 3800pack
Erm thats funny, I use a 3300 pack and run a Sport tuned on my M03 and it easily goes past 20+ mins.

I suggest that that guy use a Sports Tuned instead! It will save him maintenance and wun blow up even if he ran 3 hours continuously. We used the motor for a 3hr endurance and its still alive and kicking
Kail is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:15 AM   #27
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: phx az
Posts: 30

envirojay for president!!!!after reading the last post he made in sure he must be a politician!!!

disregarding everything he is told,that makes sense i might add, and going on like we all told him he is right,yep,sounds like a politician to me.
Derek K is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:51 AM   #28
Tech Regular
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 329

Well getting that long of run time is not out of the question, but he never said it was going fast...I'm using a mod motor that is 12 years old....still going. Maintenence is the key. Replace the brushes, cut the com, clean the motor. The only other thing that kills electric motors quicker is tight gear mesh..

I'm betting you didn't check to see how the wires were soldered after the first overheat...and that would also include the solder on the circuit board and your caps. I've had a motor heat up so bad that it desoldered itself and resoldered when it cooled down. Bang! Cold solder joint. That would equal poor conductivity and more heat. Either way, the batteries didn't cook a motor.. the motor cooked itself once it gets too much heat, got a short in the wires, or was regeared, run way too long. If a battery cooks a motor all the electonics get cooked as well. It's like having a short in a circuit without a fuse to protect it. Everything goes. I bet in a couple of more runs the 3600Mah would have done the same thing if you could get the 40 min of runtime as you say you could with the 42000Mah. Ten more minutes of high heat..deadly. Considering the way you took care of the motor, you sure your 3600Mah pack is running on all cells?

BTW, did you check to see if the insulation on the wires was ok? Graphite and current carrying wires do not mix...But your battery should have been toasted then also. Anyways, sounds like a lesson on Maintaining of Electric Motors 101 is needed.
wcoyote is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:54 AM   #29
Tech Adept
ottokid's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: sheboygan wi
Posts: 111
Send a message via Yahoo to ottokid

Hey Envirojay I will solve your problem! I am sure you could trade someone your new 4200 for there 3600, then your never have to worry about extreme crazy voltage blowing up your motor again.
Team Associated
EA motorsports
Competition Electronics
Schacht Paint works
ottokid is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:56 AM   #30
Tech Elite
sosidge's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,809

IB4200 - Motor melting power!

Now that's a sales pitch that really works! Thanks for the info envirojay!
sosidge is offline  
Closed Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XPRO 4200mAh 25C Saddle Pack LI-PO KostaG Electric Off-Road 4 08-15-2008 06:59 AM
Battery fried????? playboy Electric Off-Road 9 05-07-2008 07:27 PM
RC 18T MINI MOD MOTOR AND BATTERY PACK drew840 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 03-25-2008 10:31 AM
Quick Charger for 7.2V Ni-mh 4200mAH Battery steponit! Malaysian R/C Racers 2 03-20-2008 06:46 AM
4200MaH pack in a t3 henry Electric Off-Road 4 11-09-2007 09:09 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:51 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0