R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2017, 03:20 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default pan car set up stations valid for F1 cars?

Hi,

I am thinking about buying a set up station as the one that I own has a lot of slope and it is everything but accurate. At the moment I am using a TC one for the F1 and I do not have for my 12th car and I was wondering if the pan car ones such as Hudy 109405 or the Arrowmax 170043 will work with both cars? or do i need two units? one for the f1 and another one for the 12th car

Thanks
Javier
jimjav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 06:43 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi Javier,

the pan car station won't fit the F1 (and vice-versa). The F1 setup station is in fact a normal touring setup station with specific spacer for the front wheels, that's it.

Moreover, the bearings of the front hub of a pan car are smaller than the ones for a F1.

Regards,
G-rem
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 07:03 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks G-rem,

I was expecting that answer but i wanted to know it for sure.
I have been using on my F1 my old TC set up but it has never been a good one, so I as I need a new one I was hopping to find that I can buy the pan car one and only need one on my pit bag.

Cheers
javier
jimjav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 09:08 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Moogumby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Which spacer is needed or is it depending on your car?
Moogumby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 09:23 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montréal, Qc
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moogumby View Post
Which spacer is needed or is it depending on your car?
These, as long as your car uses 5x10 mm bearings

https://www.hudy.net/xhudy/products/...6&kategoria=64

They are 10-12$ or so.

Martin Paradis
rhodopsine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 07:03 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 591
Default

Just use a couple of old bearings ... no need to fork out $10 for the adapters
__________________
On-Road - Xray T4'17 / Serpent 4-X / Tamiya Exo6 / Roche P10 & P12 & F1
4WD - Kyosho ZX6 / Yokomo YZ4 *** eBuggy - Tekno EB48SL
2WD - AE B5M (XFactory Chassis) / Kyosho RB6 / TLR 22 2.0 / Yokomo YZ2
SCT - Tekno SCT410 / Losi 22SCT 2.0
ST - Losi 22T 2.0
WagwanBumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 07:35 PM   #7
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,338
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

I regret getting my Hudy F1 setup station when I already have the TC setup station.

Ironically, what is more accurate is the Turnigy Trackstar 1/10-1/12 setup station. The quality isn't any where near the Hudy of course, but you will get more accurate camber/toe readings. It has inserts that fit the F1 specific axles perfectly, instead of relying on the stupid spacer setup of the Hudy.

https://hobbyking.com/en_us/tracksta...up-system.html
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 08:13 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,873
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

you can make the adaptors on a 3d printer for less than the 10.00 from Hudy. Mine work fine. (TC set-up station).
__________________
Team Epic/Trinity -Michael Bruce Hobbies-Team CRC ,Kimbrough Products and GForce.
WGT-R, GT Racing USA (17.5 foam), Formula 1 and Home Track is 386 RaceWay,ROAR #7540.
BullFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 04:03 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Madulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,019
Default

I use the Hudy 12 scale setup station. Just got bearings that fit in the 12 scale adaptors that fit the F1 axle. I can't remember the size, but had to find imperial ones that are really close in metric size. Then I use extra wheel bearings on the axle as a spacer to allow the setup triangle to screw on tight.
__________________
Hobbywing North America Team Driver
hobbywingdirect.com
Madulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 04:04 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madulla View Post
I use the Hudy 12 scale setup station. Just got bearings that fit in the 12 scale adaptors that fit the F1 axle. I can't remember the size, but had to find imperial ones that are really close in metric size. Then I use extra wheel bearings on the axle as a spacer to allow the setup triangle to screw on tight.
Can you maesure them??

That what was I was thinking
jimjav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:03 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net