R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2017, 01:25 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,781
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default Static issues with speedos and motors on the new CRC carpet

Both the Indoor Champs and Snowbirds had issues with static playing havoc with motors and speedos causing some to ground the speedo to the chassis. This is a little concerning to me as I had a fellow racer go through (4) speedos and (3) motors because of this at the Birds. Pretty expensive if you have to pay full retail like myself. Anyone have any insight on this topic?
__________________
Hobbywing / Team Scream / Progressive Rc / Ko Propo / MotivRc / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 01:55 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 45
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I dont have a answer as to the cause of the problem ,but i do have a solution back years ago we had the same problem certain times of the year and to solve it we sprayed our cars with static guard you can buy it at most grocery stores .
we have bolted a small rubber oring cut into off the chassic to touch the carpet and it seemed to help too.
sorry to hear that you are having that problem back then we called novak and they give us some suggestions and tekin helped out also but in todays world its hard to get woohn choong in china to help out so please try to support what we have left .
i know that its hard to beat stuff like hobbywing we run them in the dirt oval world but its because we have too if it was my choise i would have a tekin in my cars , thats all i use for modified .
good luck with this problem and i sure hope that helps out .
spray the whole car too
stevecox1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 02:24 PM   #3
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,059
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

acuvance. Google them. They make a static discharge device that hooks to the ground of the speedo to dissipate the static built up in the car when running on foam tires. I have had zero issues since using this.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 04:13 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
hanulec's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,449
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

My recommendation is a ground wire from ESC negative to a steel flathead screw on the chassis plate. Trip the wire insulation and make into a circle. Secure the wire into screw with a lock nut.
__________________
FJ / ROAR #2-122945 / MaxRotation FPV Drone Racing / Shop@ Awesomatix USA / Wild Turbo Fan / Mon-Tech Racing / RocheRC USA / Side Piece /
LRP / John's BSR Tires / TeamEAM / TQ Wire / R1 / Team Scream / PCR / MIX
RacerLog wiki Awesomatix A700 / 2wd offroad 4 life
hanulec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 04:20 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Racermac73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palmyra, Virginia
Posts: 1,571
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I tried all of it at Cleveland, only thing that worked for me was letting a bare wire drag on the track under the car that was soldered to the negative post on the esc. I didn't try this until the main, was only time i made 8 minutes all weekend
__________________
TEAM SCREAM, McFACTORY, TQ WIRE, 360 RACEWAY, XENON-USA.COM, SANWA, DESOTO RACING, JFT TIRES, HOBBYWING, EAM, DESTINY USA, DRIVE RC, TOP USA
Racermac73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 04:34 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Logi Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 5,575
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
acuvance. Google them. They make a static discharge device that hooks to the ground of the speedo to dissipate the static built up in the car when running on foam tires. I have had zero issues since using this.

EA
http://acuvance-usa.com/acutronphotonicstabilizer.aspx
__________________
Kyle Predmore
FB AE Fanboy/Insta @ae_fanboy
Sticky Kicks RC\Prolevel RC\MIP\Schelle
Logi Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 04:59 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,079
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Is that problem ocurring only on aluminum chassis, or does it also affect carbon fiber and plastic, etc, ????
My tc4.2 plastic chassis does not seem to have this issue...
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 05:58 PM   #8
Company Representative
 
ammdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,410
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Zero issues for me at both races... Coming on and off the dots seems to be the disscharge causing problems for a few drivers. I can say that while helping a driver who had the issue, two identical cars one would fail one was fine...
I can't say there is anything different today from a year ago. By the way chris I have yet to see a speedo fail, as in not work any more,just shut off and require turning the switch on and off.. Over gearing/timing melting motors down and taking speedos with it are irrelevant to any static shut off.
__________________
Team Tekin, Team Scream, Paint By Mike, Team Mölzer Mowery Racing, EA Motorsports, Speedmerchant, TQ Wire

MMR Direct Minneapolis World Class Indoor Race Facility.
On Road and Off Road racing year round.

www.molzermoweryracing.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/MMR/160679913944205?__req=9

Check out You Tube mmrswracing. Every qualifier and every main uploaded at the end of every race day.
ammdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 11:40 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,813
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
Both the Indoor Champs and Snowbirds had issues with static playing havoc with motors and speedos causing some to ground the speedo to the chassis. This is a little concerning to me as I had a fellow racer go through (4) speedos and (3) motors because of this at the Birds. Pretty expensive if you have to pay full retail like myself. Anyone have any insight on this topic?
Not enough info in this post.

Was this affecting foam tire or rubber tire classes?
1-cell or 2-cell classes?
On-road or Oval?

----------

I've seen in the past that some tracks had a lot of static build-up in them. The old pan car solution was to hang a wire from the bottom of the rear pod that would drag on the carpet so as to electrically ground the car.
__________________
I'm currently racing VTA. Check here for rules/info: http://www.usvintagetransam.com/
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 02:55 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,781
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyRC_Racer View Post
Not enough info in this post.

Was this affecting foam tire or rubber tire classes?
1-cell or 2-cell classes?
On-road or Oval?

----------

I've seen in the past that some tracks had a lot of static build-up in them. The old pan car solution was to hang a wire from the bottom of the rear pod that would drag on the carpet so as to electrically ground the car.
1/12th foam.
__________________
Hobbywing / Team Scream / Progressive Rc / Ko Propo / MotivRc / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 03:17 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,781
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default Snowbirds

Example of a car with ground wire....
Attached Thumbnails
Static issues with speedos and motors on the new CRC carpet-img_0346.jpg  
__________________
Hobbywing / Team Scream / Progressive Rc / Ko Propo / MotivRc / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 07:33 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,448
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Was there issues in tc also
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 08:11 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,494
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I cannot imagine a rubber tc would have issues as rubber insulates and doesn't conduct.
__________________
~Xray~RCAmerica~Motiv~Gravity RC~ORCA~

Swift Racing Services, LLC.
JDC Motorsports
Boostinswifty38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 08:21 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 984
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostinswifty38 View Post
I cannot imagine a rubber tc would have issues as rubber insulates and doesn't conduct.
Did you ever do the little experiment is school where you rubbed a piece of plastic against another piece and then it would stick to your hand? Think the plastic bag used to cover dry cleaned clothing. I think it is the same thing. My theory is that the rubber tire is slipping (rubbing) on the carpet to generate the static and it is building up in the chassis including the wires of the electronics.
davidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 08:55 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 1,286
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidl View Post
Did you ever do the little experiment is school where you rubbed a piece of plastic against another piece and then it would stick to your hand? Think the plastic bag used to cover dry cleaned clothing. I think it is the same thing. My theory is that the rubber tire is slipping (rubbing) on the carpet to generate the static and it is building up in the chassis including the wires of the electronics.
Also, the chassis itself will brush against the track surface.
gigaplex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:26 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net