R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2017, 09:27 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 16
Default New to RC, receiver/esc issue is discouraging. Help!

Hi Everyone!

This is my first post after lurking for a long time.
I have an issue where my RC takes off full throttle with no control after a few minutes of driving.

Heres my setup:
Ofna Jl10e
Hobbywing ezrun 9t/35a combo
Dynamite 1800mah 7.4v 6 cell nimh battery
Towerhobbies 2.4ghz rx/tx

This is my first RC. I set everything up, bound the receiver,set up the esc as well (did everything according to manual). Then I run it in the house on the carpet.everythings fine. I then take it out to the parking area and drive down about 30 feet. I turn it around to come back and give it some throttle and half way back it takes off on its own,full throttle, under some cars. I go to pick it up and its still going full throttle with a solid red light on the esc(which in the manual says that solid red means accelerating, but not full throttle).I turned the esc off then on again and everythings fine. This happens every time and I keep bringing it back trying to rebind and reset everything.
The first thing I thought was the battery is too weak or mabie the esc is reading for lipo, but i turned off that setting with the program card.
I am stumped.
I get about a 3 minute run in every time, but for that 3 minutes im free.lol. someone please help me extend my freedom to at least a full charge of battery.

Thanks!
TXNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 09:59 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=TXNE;14829733
Heres my setup:

Hobbywing ezrun 9t/35a combo
Dynamite 1800mah 7.4v 6 cell nimh battery


[/QUOTE]

By the stats this is a combination of disaster waiting to happen. Over powered under battery, your lucky to get 2 minutes.
Rodney Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 10:09 AM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 16
Default

I know the battery is crap.I bought the cheapest I could get my hands on.just to make sure everything ran. I will be getting a 3s lipo very soon. I would have one already but I didnt want to buy one yet with my current issue unresolved.so, it could be the battery that is causing loss of control? If so, I will order a battery and charger today
TXNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 10:14 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to GuyIsDamGood
Default

The problem is the throttle.
-program the Radio and ESC together(follow the Radio and ESC instructions)
-then; (it could be) the Throttle Sub-Trim has to be set
GuyIsDamGood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 10:20 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TXNE View Post
I know the battery is crap.I bought the cheapest I could get my hands on.just to make sure everything ran. I will be getting a 3s lipo very soon. I would have one already but I didnt want to buy one yet with my current issue unresolved.so, it could be the battery that is causing loss of control? If so, I will order a battery and charger today
I'd try to borrow a larger battery (more than 1800mah) to check it out first, but this sounds like the system is browning out and the speed control locks on the last signal it received.

When it happens, after you retrieve it, if you pick it up and power cycle the system, does it act normal again, but runs away when you put it on the ground and give it throttle? Then for sure your losing signal. Do you recharge the battery to full capacity? You have a pretty low turn motor and a pretty small battery.
Rodney Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 10:47 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodney Racer View Post
I'd try to borrow a larger battery (more than 1800mah) to check it out first, but this sounds like the system is browning out and the speed control locks on the last signal it received.

When it happens, after you retrieve it, if you pick it up and power cycle the system, does it act normal again, but runs away when you put it on the ground and give it throttle? Then for sure your losing signal. Do you recharge the battery to full capacity? You have a pretty low turn motor and a pretty small battery.

When I pick it up it just keeps running full throttle.nothing changes until I turn off the esc.then when I turn it on again everything seems normal.
TXNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 10:52 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 322
Default

It sounds like the Speedo is not bound to the Radio.
sdunnmcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 10:53 AM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyIsDamGood View Post
The problem is the throttle.
-program the Radio and ESC together(follow the Radio and ESC instructions)
-then; (it could be) the Throttle Sub-Trim has to be set
I have the Tower Hobbies 224 system. How (if possible) can I set the sub trim? There is only one know for throttle trim but I do not see sub trim.
TXNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 10:58 AM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdunnmcp View Post
It sounds like the Speedo is not bound to the Radio.
Ive tried this many times, "calibrating" the esc and receiver.where the light blinks and you press the set button on the esc for neutral, full throttle, and full reverse.
TXNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 11:21 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TXNE View Post
When I pick it up it just keeps running full throttle.nothing changes until I turn off the esc.then when I turn it on again everything seems normal.
Then for sure your hitting the low voltage. You can recalibrate it till the cows come home and this won't fix the problem, your just plain and simple running out of battery.
Rodney Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 12:26 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodney Racer View Post
Then for sure your hitting the low voltage. You can recalibrate it till the cows come home and this won't fix the problem, your just plain and simple running out of battery.
Hitting liw voltage can cause it to fly away full throttle? Is there a way to prevent this? Mabie a way to have it just cut off?

Thanks for the help
TXNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 12:46 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TXNE View Post
Hitting liw voltage can cause it to fly away full throttle? Is there a way to prevent this? Mabie a way to have it just cut off?

Thanks for the help
You could try a surge cap that plugs into the receiver, but that usually just helps when you punch the throttle, it keeps voltage up for a milliseconds so the radio signal doesn't drop.

Some radios have a fail safe option, thats something you'll have to check into with your transmitter information. Ultimately though its your battery thats down to a lower voltage that will not sustain radio signal.
Rodney Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 12:47 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TXNE View Post
Hitting liw voltage can cause it to fly away full throttle? Is there a way to prevent this? Mabie a way to have it just cut off?

Thanks for the help
More expensive radios and ESCs have protection against this. I'm pretty sure the ezRun ESC has a lipo voltage cutoff feature, at a minimum ensure that it's enabled. Adding a glitch buster capacitor to the receiver might help a bit too.
gigaplex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 12:59 PM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 47
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

My touring car was doing this when I first got it going. It turns out I did not calibrate the esc properly. Once calibrated, I have had no issues since.
Flash74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 01:54 PM   #15
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodney Racer View Post
You could try a surge cap that plugs into the receiver, but that usually just helps when you punch the throttle, it keeps voltage up for a milliseconds so the radio signal doesn't drop.

Some radios have a fail safe option, thats something you'll have to check into with your transmitter information. Ultimately though its your battery thats down to a lower voltage that will not sustain radio signal.
That makes sense.thanks!
TXNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net