Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree1Likes

Driving techniques for faster corner speeds

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2006, 08:15 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Driving techniques for faster corner speeds

I'm kinda new to the hobby and find myself getting smoother every time out and only hit the walls when trying too hard to go fast. I found this Thread that helped me tune my car for faster corner speed, but how should I drive to get even more corner speed.

Is there different techniques for foam and rubber tires and for 1/12 scale and 1/10 scale touring car?

My current technique is to ease off the throttle as I turn into a corner, break a bit if I'm too wide and want to tighten my line. Then ease back on the throttle just before the apex, and use the throttle to adjust the exit point. I also found that when I screw up, it's usually because I wasn't looking ahead of the car enough.

Is there any fast guys out there that can describe there techniques? or offer any tips.

RHC
Old 01-14-2006, 09:15 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

i dont use brakes
Old 01-14-2006, 09:25 PM
Tech Regular

You should never use your brakes in onroad. If you have a section that has a tight turn like after a long straight, you my wanna adjust your radio and add some brake untill your skills improve. But thats a bad habbit. The trick is to carry as much momentum THROUGH the turn as you can. Slow in, fast out. If you have to give up straight-a-way speed so you can set yourself up for the next turn, do so.
Old 01-14-2006, 09:57 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

I'm a fan of late apex....but, not always the best thing when you got a guy tailing you. The fastest way around any turn is through it's largest radious....AKA, furthest outside, closest inside, furthest outside....Good to practice, but in qualifying and racing, you may have to be a bit more aggressive.