R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2006, 03:38 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default Robitronic dyno

Hi there,

is anyone interested in changing tips and infos around using the robitronic dyno and tuning motors?
How are you tuning your motors with this dyno?
What are you looking for? Numbers? Grafiks?

Im using the dyno since 5 years now and Im running 17t, 27t and sometimes 12t...
UMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 08:22 AM   #2
Tech Regular
drsfly's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NE. Ill
Posts: 441
Default robi info

I ordered the windows software yesteday. So I should be able to see some graphs soon. I got mine(Robi) used and only have a laptop w/ winxp so I look foreward to starting the learning process.
I already have a question though. Do you get very repeatable results or do you see 1-4 watt differences(always lower) on consecutive runs?
ie- SInce mine is used I am worried I may need to have an upgrade or maintenence done to see repeatable results.
drsfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 12:18 AM   #3
Tech Adept
SA_Racer's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 138

I use mine for tuning motors for stock only, Drop me a PM we can share some graphs to see how our motors compare.

Till later
SA_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 12:23 AM   #4
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431

I sold my dyno a few years ago, but I remember a few things.

I always basically disregarded the max power figure. There is an option to have the software look at specific ranges in the power curve, and I had it set up to give me power figures under certain amp draw ranges (I think).

I also looked at the spin up figures, but not the spin up to max RPM, which was basically just a reading of how long it took the dyno to figure out that the motor was done accelerating.
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 07:47 AM   #5
Tech Regular
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265

I always tell guys if you wanna test a Monster stock motor to set the average watt calculation from 18-26 amps.

If you can hit 100+ watts here the motor usually screams on the track. That is in oval, so you might wanna look at a higher range.
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Robitronic dyno!!!!!!!!! ACEDEAN R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 10-16-2007 09:26 AM
FS - Robitronic Dyno EVILGRAFX R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-20-2006 05:06 PM
Robitronic Dyno martbeda R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-13-2005 04:57 PM
Robitronic Dyno F/S Whoda1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-12-2005 07:51 AM
robitronic dyno $500.00 backmarker R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-03-2002 04:37 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:44 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0