Community
Wiki Posts
Search

1/12 banked oval track??

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2016, 06:44 PM
Tech Rookie

Questions?? 1/12 banked oval track??

So this is maybe a odd and rare question but has anyone raced on a oval track that was banked? I have a track near me that belongs to friend but questions are... track has 10deg and 5deg banks and ive got car running well but seems like drives better after the front tires have worn down and start to wear odd like funnels the tire so the left front will be worn like someone taken tire and cut tire at angle with most tread to inside of car and least to outside of wheel.. question is would it benefit me to make my car have camber positive left front and negative on right front? so car can cut corners faster and maybe help with wear? I appreciate all the help im new to oval track and do this when not doing speedruns.
Old 11-24-2016, 07:33 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)

Yes years ago, we used to run on bicycle velodromes. with staggered capped tires. look up the "whip" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRLkKghYxe0&app=desktop

its been so long, but we would run different caster bias, as well, with the split Cheetah front end, Buds Speedmachine front end or Trinity's reactive caster front. offset T-bars hubs etc.
Old 11-24-2016, 07:56 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 377 (100%+)

Wow what blast from the past videos ! Looks like a lot of fun, oval is on my Rc bucket list for sure
Old 11-24-2016, 10:09 PM
Tech Rookie

dang wont let me post a video, its under my channel david downs and is listed 1/12 oval race i drive the blue latemodel body crc 3.1 carpet knife
Old 11-24-2016, 10:10 PM
Tech Rookie

youtube.com/watch?v=xnI_VfNbMpE&t=2s
Old 11-24-2016, 10:11 PM
Tech Rookie

youtube.com/watch?v=xnI_VfNbMpE&t=24s
Old 11-24-2016, 11:55 PM
Tech Lord

My 1/18 on a bicycle track.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrSV-doeQgM
Old 11-25-2016, 06:54 AM
Tech Rookie