R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2006, 05:56 PM   #736
Tech Adept
 
ljohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Delta BC, Canada
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony390
try to balance the car on a set-up station

i always wanted to do that but unfortunatly i dont have the money..i just deal with it and i guess i adapt to the car and use my control of the car to balance the things out (steering and throttle responces)
You don't need expensive tools to get the weight balance mostly right - just try lifting the car at the center from both the front and back ends with something narrow, like a hex driver. Use the shaft to line up the center if you don't have a center point marked. When you lift, the side that lifts first needs more weight.

Alternatively you can weight the parts going on the right (battery) vs the ones on the left (electronics and motor) and go from there.

Misbalanced cars are really hard to drive...
ljohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 08:20 PM   #737
Tech Initiate
 
supradude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 39
Default

this is kinda off topic but owell i just got my car from ebay and i was over at my buddies house and he's got an empty basement thats aroun500 sqaure feet it was awsome it was all dusty and stuf and we kinda learned how to drift any way here is the car

[IMG]codys car[/IMG]nevermind i cant get the pic to work

Last edited by supradude; 06-28-2006 at 08:22 PM. Reason: pic wont work
supradude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 07:20 AM   #738
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ljohnson
You don't need expensive tools to get the weight balance mostly right - just try lifting the car at the center from both the front and back ends with something narrow, like a hex driver. Use the shaft to line up the center if you don't have a center point marked. When you lift, the side that lifts first needs more weight.

Alternatively you can weight the parts going on the right (battery) vs the ones on the left (electronics and motor) and go from there.

Misbalanced cars are really hard to drive...

ill try it

but how you said the unbalance car is really hard to drive...well its not that hard for me...but then agian maybe my car is already balanced enogh for me to handle...im not that sure but i already been dealing with it for ever since i had my tc3 and i barly notice it now
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 09:17 AM   #739
Tech Regular
 
thedudeaturdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the 8-0-4! aka the RVA!
Posts: 414
Send a message via AIM to thedudeaturdoor
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supradude
this is kinda off topic but owell i just got my car from ebay and i was over at my buddies house and he's got an empty basement thats aroun500 sqaure feet it was awsome it was all dusty and stuf and we kinda learned how to drift any way here is the car

[IMG]codys car[/IMG]nevermind i cant get the pic to work
yeah its easyer to use someplace like Photobucket to host the image, then copy the URL and post just the url here, so it does not take forever to load the page

i u want to use mine ill pm u info
thedudeaturdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 11:26 PM   #740
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,425
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Valentin.H
Default

just for the guys looking for drift tires..

i got some for sale...some with rims..some without. the ones with rims are white dish rims and some beat up yokomo meshies. comes in orginial pipe version, or pre-cut. The pipe version is already marked but u can remark it to fit your rims. the precutt ones were used to fit a normal 26mm rim i think..but thats only a few, most of em are for pretty wide rims..if you want me to cut the abs, i will need to know how wide your rims are in either inches or mm (preferbaly).

prices: $3 for a set of 4 tires +shipping. will give deals on multiple sets ordered.

full on 2 feet tubes are $7 bucks a pop +shipping, will gives deals on multiple tubes bought..

will accept paypal only..unless you are planning me on handing cash..i MIGHT take MO....

will ship anywhere in the world if you pay the shipping..the faster you want it, the more you pay..btw, i ship FED EX.

i got some worn out rims i do not use with thin foams on em, so u just push em on...these are 24mm rims but the abs holds snug tight because of the foam.

after i run out of abs...i will get more

will post pics later this week...around july 4th maybe..

contact me by

PM
AIM
Email

aim: mrxvalentin
email: ieatspringrolls@yahoo.com
__________________
-valentin
www.csjunkies.com
Valentin.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2006, 08:22 PM   #741
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Guru
just for the guys looking for drift tires..

i got some for sale...some with rims..some without. the ones with rims are white dish rims and some beat up yokomo meshies. comes in orginial pipe version, or pre-cut. The pipe version is already marked but u can remark it to fit your rims. the precutt ones were used to fit a normal 26mm rim i think..but thats only a few, most of em are for pretty wide rims..if you want me to cut the abs, i will need to know how wide your rims are in either inches or mm (preferbaly).

prices: $3 for a set of 4 tires +shipping. will give deals on multiple sets ordered.

full on 2 feet tubes are $7 bucks a pop +shipping, will gives deals on multiple tubes bought..

will accept paypal only..unless you are planning me on handing cash..i MIGHT take MO....

will ship anywhere in the world if you pay the shipping..the faster you want it, the more you pay..btw, i ship FED EX.

i got some worn out rims i do not use with thin foams on em, so u just push em on...these are 24mm rims but the abs holds snug tight because of the foam.

after i run out of abs...i will get more

will post pics later this week...around july 4th maybe..

contact me by

PM
AIM
Email

aim: mrxvalentin
email: ieatspringrolls@yahoo.com

hey rc guru (aka viet drifter right)

may i ask how much profit are you making and is it really all worth it
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 09:32 AM   #742
Tech Regular
 
thedudeaturdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the 8-0-4! aka the RVA!
Posts: 414
Send a message via AIM to thedudeaturdoor
Default

looks like they have a brushless for drifters, the new Novak stock

cant wait to save up and buy one, along with my tc4

so paz, whats broke lately, i need a paz story!
thedudeaturdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 09:37 AM   #743
Tech Adept
 
Serandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 162
Default Any brushless will work for drifting

You don't need any specific brushless for drifting. Personally, I've got one of the new castlcreations one's comming in. It's a new product with great pricing and should be good for drift, screwing around, and competative racing.
__________________
Team CFX
M03, M04, TRF Evo IV Drifter, f201
Serandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 12:22 PM   #744
Tech Regular
 
thedudeaturdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the 8-0-4! aka the RVA!
Posts: 414
Send a message via AIM to thedudeaturdoor
Default

dude, if its like the 5.5 you wont be past 1/4 throlte, its over kill

unless ur drifting with rubbers, but its over kill, a 7x1 is over kill, heck my 13t was too much for me

u must be doing so 30-40 mph drifting, a stock or 19t is best, and one guy was saying his 5.5 was wyy too much with the throle trim awwwwayy down, and he was not going past 1/4th throle
thedudeaturdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 01:52 PM   #745
Tech Adept
 
Serandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 162
Default Power drifting

High power is fine if you've got the exponential on your radio tuned right, but the more power you've got the better your throttle control has to be. Especially for ABS on asphalt as it's so low traction. What you don't want is more power than you're capable of using in a controled fasion.
__________________
Team CFX
M03, M04, TRF Evo IV Drifter, f201

Last edited by Serandin; 07-07-2006 at 03:06 PM.
Serandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 03:03 PM   #746
PaZ
Tech Master
 
PaZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cornwall (England)
Posts: 1,262
Default

hallo thar ive spent all week with the TC3 in many many pieces trying to reshape the ally parts i never knew wishbones could bend in so many different ways i not been drifting the TC3 for a while cause i set fire to the esc and couldn't be bothered to buy another one so i took the Evo 4 out for a drift running the money motor and it was goin fine till it just stopped i was lookin at it like uhhh ohhhh not the evo please all the expensive gear NOOOOO and looks like that esc has gone aswell so i got me a no limit LRP which i stuck in the TC3 tonight and had the 7x1 up screaming again i gotta stick it in the evo next to make sure that works fine
__________________
Xray T2 0079
Mardave V12 VRX
Team T.J Cells
CT Race Bodies
PaZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 03:34 PM   #747
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedudeaturdoor
dude, if its like the 5.5 you wont be past 1/4 throlte, its over kill

unless ur drifting with rubbers, but its over kill, a 7x1 is over kill, heck my 13t was too much for me

u must be doing so 30-40 mph drifting, a stock or 19t is best, and one guy was saying his 5.5 was wyy too much with the throle trim awwwwayy down, and he was not going past 1/4th throle
actually, power is easily turned down to controllable levels from what i've seen. the castle creations setup looks good, so i am gonna try it, BUT the biggest factor in a brushless system that can mess up RC drifters is the way the reverse kicks in when you are trying to brake. novaks are awesome. out of the 6 i tried/owned, not one reversed when i was trying to brake. my one lrp sphere/neo one combination hits reverse too easily and was never good for rc drifting. so hopefully the mamba max has good programming as far as the reverse kicking in. maybe it can even be programmed in. i'll be happy if i can program the amount of reverse there is, especially since we like to run front oneways that only allow the rear to reverse, so a soft smooth reverse curve with no punch would be nice.

b

ps: thanks to Ben and Marn from groovy for coming down to hawaii and rc drifting with us.
bdrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 03:51 PM   #748
Tech Adept
 
Serandin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 162
Default reversing during drift

Well, on my novak brushless I just turn reverse off by selecting the right profile. On the mamba you have nearly complete control over these settings as it's all computer programmed so setting reverse delay is super easy. If you've got a controller that doesn't allow you to change the reverse delay or turn it off completely then you may have issues. In that case try setting brake exponential / speed / end point / or what have you on your radio if possible.
__________________
Team CFX
M03, M04, TRF Evo IV Drifter, f201
Serandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 05:39 PM   #749
Tech Regular
 
thedudeaturdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the 8-0-4! aka the RVA!
Posts: 414
Send a message via AIM to thedudeaturdoor
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaZ
hallo thar ive spent all week with the TC3 in many many pieces trying to reshape the ally parts i never knew wishbones could bend in so many different ways i not been drifting the TC3 for a while cause i set fire to the esc and couldn't be bothered to buy another one so i took the Evo 4 out for a drift running the money motor and it was goin fine till it just stopped i was lookin at it like uhhh ohhhh not the evo please all the expensive gear NOOOOO and looks like that esc has gone aswell so i got me a no limit LRP which i stuck in the TC3 tonight and had the 7x1 up screaming again i gotta stick it in the evo next to make sure that works fine

thats pazz, blowing up stuff and makin it smokeeeeeeee
thedudeaturdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 05:52 PM   #750
Tech Addict
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ihave a TB evo1 with a novak 5.5r (pictured a couple of pages back) and it drifts fine. I hardly go above 1/4 throttle but occasionally give it full throttle in a big drift but it doesn't change the drift too much. It is too much motor for drifting but because I'm oinly using 1/4 throttle it lasts a good 20 minutes on 4 cells.
__________________
I'm not a grown man playing with toys. I'm a hobbyist.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sg Official Drift Thread!!! AndrewJCH Singapore R/C Racers 188 08-05-2011 09:02 AM
Official Drift Thread Ginsu Electric On-Road 8 10-23-2007 02:36 AM
official drift thread streetracer745 Electric On-Road 3 10-24-2006 09:07 PM
The Official Drift Thread anthony390 Nitro On-Road 0 12-25-2005 10:46 PM
The Official xxx-nt thread rushdude Electric Off-Road 1 09-24-2003 03:09 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:58 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net