R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 06-19-2016, 01:31 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default Drifting cars

Hi
as I'm new to the RC World I wanted some advise on Drifting cars
I'm looking at electric powered what is the best make and model out their for a beginner
or is it possible to turn a TL01 into a drifter if so hows it done
all advise welcome
RC_TONY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 03:24 AM   #2
Tech Adept

Every rc car can be turned in a drifter with mounting drift tires on it and a spool in the back. This is the typical beginners setup for "50:50 drifting".

For the more expert countersteer setups you need a more special countersteer chassis and it should better be belt driven to easily change the internal drive ratios of front and rear axle.

For the beginning I would recommend a TT-02D. It's cheap and out of the box able to drift with 50:50.
Tom1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 04:06 AM   #3
Tech Rookie

are the HSP Flying Fish RC DRIFTING cars any good anyone have one?
Old 06-19-2016, 05:59 AM   #4
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)

I just started drifting a few months ago, so I can give you the perspective of a newer guy. I followed the common suggestion of swapping the locations of my spool and gear differential in my Yokomo BD7 and mounting some HPI T-drifts. I did this for about 2 months to make sure that I liked drifting. Once sure, I then opted to go RWD with a MST FXX-D. I've been driving the RWD for about a month and a half, but I really love the challenge and how cool it looks when I manage to pull a smooth drift.