Search

Best ESCs, Motor and Servo for 1:10 Pan Car

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2016, 12:55 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Best ESCs, Motor and Servo for 1:10 Pan Car

Hey folks,

I'm new to the 1/10th onroad world. Have spent much of my time running 1/5th scale FGs etc.

Can you guys recommend a good ESC, motor and servo for a 1/10th scale pan car?

I can spend $600 for all three of that helps narrow down the choices.

I just purchased the VBC Lightning 10 and would like to have the electronics ready when the kit arrives.

Thanks.
Old 05-02-2016, 01:12 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)

currently i'm running hobbywing 1s esc, 13.5 team scream and a futaba servo...i have zero issues with running these w/ my WGT
Old 05-02-2016, 01:30 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Hi,

it all depend whether you'll ride the car in stock (blinky) or in "open" mode esc. And also the tires you plan to use (foam or rubber). Is your car set at 200mm version or 235mm (wide)?

If rubber, nothing lower than 17.5t motor, if you go lower, I'm afraid rubber tires couldn't handle such power without spinning,...

If foam, you can use any turn motor in blinky or open esc. If your car is 200mm wide, I'd recomand nothing lower than 6.5t on outdoor track (2S), if it's the 235mm version you'll get, you can go up to 3.5t (2S) if your track suit that kind of motor (long straights,...). In 235mm, we use between 4t and 6t motors depending on the track.

If your plan is to run the car in 1S battery, it depends again on your track (long/short, outdoor/indoor,...).

For 2S, you can pick any of the good esc generally seen on 1/10 touring cars (HW V3.1 (or the new XR10 Pro), LRP Flow Worksteam, Team Orion R10.1 Pro,...).

For the motor, if you don't run in spec class, try to match the brand of the esc and the brand of the motor. If you"ll run in spec class, all the good motor for spec touring or spec 1/12 will suit.