R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2016, 08:55 PM   #31
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugetbasher View Post
Thank you Mr.phildogg, not happy about situation, first build for speed run and now this. Think I will break down and buy xl2, come to far to turn back now. Are there any other big ESC that anyone has had luck with? Seen many options, 300/400 amp, most are for heli or boat. Alien? Vxp? Any suggestions or opinions would be great.
Never seen anyone using Alien or VXP but I am curious about them. XL2 is what most use for 8s speed runs. Luckily I have a spare brand new XL2. I dont know what I will do when these are gone.
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 12:37 AM   #32
Tech Addict
 
Dr_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4basher View Post
The Hobbywing Max 5 200a ESC is also A POS. If you try running more than 1000kv on 8s or 1600kv on 6s the throttle will cut out after 1 or 2 seconds of WOT. Hobbywing told me this is a safty mode it goes into. Did manage 113 mph one time with it on the same setup exact setup I went 134 mph with a XL2. Dont waste your money on Hobbywing either. Only good 1/5 option for speed is XL2 but they are all gone now.
Interesting, thanks for sharing. There's little real-life info around on the HobbyWings being used successfully for speed stuff.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4basher View Post
Never seen anyone using Alien or VXP but I am curious about them. XL2 is what most use for 8s speed runs. Luckily I have a spare brand new XL2. I dont know what I will do when these are gone.
Lizard tried an Alien Power System 8S 250A Gen3 once, but wasn't very impressed: http://www.rc-monster.com/forum/show...848#post428848

SkyRC Toro Beast seems to struggle with some issues as well: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...2573823&page=2
__________________
2S is for servos, 4S is for minis.
Dr_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 10:49 PM   #33
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4basher View Post
Never seen anyone using Alien or VXP but I am curious about them. XL2 is what most use for 8s speed runs. Luckily I have a spare brand new XL2. I dont know what I will do when these are gone.
It is hard to believe that the XL2 is the only option. What are people like Nic Case and Tim Smith using in their cars?
drivejumpfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 03:55 AM   #34
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drivejumpfly View Post
It is hard to believe that the XL2 is the only option. What are people like Nic Case and Tim Smith using in their cars?
I believe they run 12s so probably Castle Phoenix ESCs.
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 03:41 PM   #35
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Default

Happy with everyone's input on the situation. There is another thread on here same topic that seems a little more heated. Castle this,hobbywing that, guys need to get over yourself and your ego's. Nobody cares about that much, think most of us would just like a good ESC that does what it says. I have come to the conclusion that either purchase a xl2 or wait for update. I impatient so xl2 for me, I will hold on to my xlx, find something to do with it. Let the buyer beware!
bugetbasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 07:39 PM   #36
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4basher View Post
I believe they run 12s so probably Castle Phoenix ESCs.
Do you have any links to information on guys running those in cars?

Last week I thought I had time to order a Castle XL2 but someone bought the last eight that were in stock where I was looking - in one day! Hopefully Castle unlocks the XLX.
drivejumpfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 02:49 AM   #37
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drivejumpfly View Post
Do you have any links to information on guys running those in cars?

Last week I thought I had time to order a Castle XL2 but someone bought the last eight that were in stock where I was looking - in one day! Hopefully Castle unlocks the XLX.
Here is a Serpent Cobra GT with 12s Castle Phoenix ESC:

https://youtu.be/eP3-sXDe_s8
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 11:46 AM   #38
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drivejumpfly View Post
Do you have any links to information on guys running those in cars?

Last week I thought I had time to order a Castle XL2 but someone bought the last eight that were in stock where I was looking - in one day! Hopefully Castle unlocks the XLX.
There's still some XL2s out there, I just ordered one today so I have a backup in case anything happens to the one I'm running
MallenP30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 01:02 PM   #39
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 192
Default

could we change the programing on these new ones?
I just about bought 2 of the XLX thinking they were better.....
brushless55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 04:48 PM   #40
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Does the mamba monster x have these same issues?
Mp0wer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 06:45 PM   #41
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brushless55 View Post
could we change the programing on these new ones?
I just about bought 2 of the XLX thinking they were better.....
You can change the programming just like the xl2. Sorry to hear that Castle tricked you too into thinking the XLX is a upgrade over XL2. What a fraud! They still won't even announce anything hoping to trick as many people as they can still.
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 06:45 PM   #42
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mp0wer View Post
Does the mamba monster x have these same issues?
Yes
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 07:41 PM   #43
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4basher View Post
You can change the programming just like the xl2. Sorry to hear that Castle tricked you too into thinking the XLX is a upgrade over XL2. What a fraud! They still won't even announce anything hoping to trick as many people as they can still.
yeah this sucks man..
but even if we change the programing around, it sounds like the newer version still does not allow our motors to run full tilt ?
brushless55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 05:06 AM   #44
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 89
Default

There's still one more test I wanna try with the XLX, as I stated before the current limiting can be disabled on it! The test I ran was with the limiting set to the max of 260A, so I'll throw it back on and disable the limiting to see if it makes a difference
MallenP30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 06:03 AM   #45
Tech Addict
 
Dr_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 634
Default

Last week a Castle Link update was released, with "Added initial production firmware for the Mamba XL X": http://www.castlecreations.com/downl...stle_link.html. However, it seems there isn't any change in the firmware, as it is still v1.72 released 11/10/2015, see below... so not sure why that was listed in the Link update.

After updating the Link software to v3.63.00, I ran my XLX ESC a bit in a 10 kg 4WD Maverick Vader buggy, geared for 63 mph on-road on 2x5Ah 6s 65C Turnigy Graphenes with a 1195 kv TP Power TP5670 6-pole motor. Test-drive ended early because of motor issue, so I don't have a whole lot of input yet.

Torque control and punch control were disabled, start power set to low and Current limiting set to insensitive (220A). It did reach a little over 200A draw, but somehow it feels as if the power kicks in a bit delayed, like turbo lag. Best graph of throttle response I got is shown below, but I was modulating throttle too much to draw any conclusions on this I think.

Will change gearing now for 66 mph off-road on stock tires, 8S and with an 1165 kv Leopard 5698, while the TP's shaft is curing. Should be nice weather coming days, so might be able to run it before the weekend.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.




__________________
2S is for servos, 4S is for minis.
Dr_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net