Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Electric Motor 101

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2002, 08:49 PM
Tech Adept

Arrow Electric Motor 101

OK, as some of you know, I am new to r/c. I know the basics...but that is about it. I learned some new stuff about batterys though! My next lesson is with motors. I took my car to the track today...and everyone was running the same car as me...TC3. But, there was a slight difference....I have the stock motor that came with my car...and everyone else had a different motor.

Now, I understand that there are two different kind of motors. Stock and Modified. Exactly what is the different.

I also understand that they are rated my turns. Can someone explain that. Also, they are rated by double and triple. What does that mean as well.

I was to upgrade my motor. Not so fast that I can't handle the car...but something that is faster than stock. I have the LRP Runner Plus digital reverse ESC. It says it can handle from 17-36 turn motor. I have a 19 turn motor...so I can only go to a 17 turn motor. I understand gearing has a lot to do with speed and acceleration, but I just wanna know about the motors for now. Gearing will be the next 101 course.

Thanks in advance for those of you who take the time to explain these things to me. I really appreciate it!
Old 11-07-2002, 10:24 PM
Tech Elite

Default Dear Unknown

Stock means 27 turn, 5 deg, motor. That's it!
Modified is everything with less turns except for 19 turn is sometimes called the "Spec" class.
A 27 turn, Rebuildable stock motor should be faster than the 19 turn that came with your car.
Try buying pinions 1 & 2 teeth larger than what came with the car to get more top speed. As long as the motor doesn't get too hot.

Last edited by popsracer; 11-07-2002 at 10:33 PM.
Old 11-08-2002, 12:06 AM
Tech Master

Popsracer, the ROAR legal stock motor is 27 turn 24 degree.