R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 12-01-2005, 06:27 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
Default School Project... HELP

Ok so I have no past experience with r/c cars except for one of those tyco r/c cars from when i was 9 or so.

I am a freshman and i am working on a project which will be testing about 4 different car bodies in a wind tunnel where i will collect the data. Then i will change some of the factors such as, weight, and body shape to see if it affects the acceleration, and velocity of the cars.

My first question is where could i get a cheap car, which can have its body replaced; It does not need to be a great quality car, this is more about price since i will only use it for this project. The only requirements really would be the ability to change its body, and it must be within a reasonable price.

My Next Question is where could i get one of these cars along with the different body types?

Some of the body types would be like an off-road truck/SUV kind of shape, another would be a stock car body like NASCAR, then the stock body that come with the car, and one other which slips my mind at the moment.
I am assuming that most of these bodies would not easily fit onto my stock chassis. So i am wondering what would i have to do to make them fit, like sand down the pieces that dont fit? Drill holes if necessary.

So if anybody could give me a link to a good store or tips on how to fit these bodies if it is at all possible.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
HelpPlease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 06:32 AM   #2
Tech Regular
Send a message via AIM to TouringMaster

Go to ebay. Look for a TC3 or some sort or Tamiya. Or look for a hpi sprint or dash, Those are cheap and easy to find. Hope this helped
TouringMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 08:07 AM   #3
Tech Champion
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)