R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2004, 11:03 PM   #6061
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default Re: Sway Bars

Quote:
Originally posted by losispeed
Heres a Basic tuning question. What effect does using sway bars have on these cars? Is it just to tighten up the suspension a little or what.... Thanks...
Try this:

http://www.donegal.flyer.co.uk/car%20setup%20guide.htm

The page has good basic tuning information including anti-sway/roll bars.
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 11:31 PM   #6062
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside of Crook County Illinois
Posts: 1,950
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A-Ko
Default Re: Sway Bars

Quote:
Originally posted by losispeed
Heres a Basic tuning question. What effect does using sway bars have on these cars? Is it just to tighten up the suspension a little or what.... Thanks...
It can settle the car down making it faster in the corners. Although just putting them in could cause major traction loss unless you adjust the rest of your setup. I Like Em
__________________
Jeffrey
teamgravityrc.com - motivrc.com
USVTA National Points Member #101
A-Ko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 09:14 AM   #6063
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

thanks for all the input.
i iam running
40w shock oil all round with 3hole pistons and 1.5mm droop at front and 2mm at rear.
iam racing mod 12t limit.
after checking the rear diff i cured the understeer.
the rear diff came loose but still transmitting power making the car understeer going into through and out of corners.
ive replaced worn parts such as balls,plates,nuts and the bolt and tightened up and with my settings the car was so nice.
i qualified 3rd and finished 2nd in the a main and set a new track record.
only 2nd time run car on ashphelt as i normally race on carpet and it rocks!
cant wait for evo4
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 06:01 PM   #6064
DJB
Tech Regular
 
DJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 499
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Post New car

Hi guys

i just bought a new tb evo 3 surikarn edition can u guys give me some tips to make it go faster?? i only run 540 stock motors and ive geared it properly but i still need a bit more speed. also the shaft seems to be sloppy. will i need the option on-53686 or what should i do? I race on concrete at nite with tamiya A tires and an LRP V7.1 speedo. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

dan
__________________
Team Associated - Champions by Design
DJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 06:20 PM   #6065
Tech Regular
 
Afro Puff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Trying to get oodles of speed out of a 540 motor is like trying to get blood from a turnip: very difficult. You might have to go to the old trick of water-dipping the motor or sneaking a cheater armature into that can No, don't do that, cheating is bad (if you get caught) Or try a whole bunch of motors until you find a fast one. It's kinda hit-or-miss with the 540s.
__________________
Ghetto Fabulous Racing: Not just ghetto, Ghetto Fabulous.
Team TYCO Jam Car: Independently controlled - acts as a moving obstacle!
Afro Puff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 06:24 PM   #6066
DJB
Tech Regular
 
DJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 499
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

My brother and I we found that the standard tamiya ones work the best. i went to www.rccaraction.com and found that trick and they also said to oil it and add comm drops thanks for the advice. also can anyone advise me for what to get for a slow old tb01. thanks
__________________
Team Associated - Champions by Design
DJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 06:40 PM   #6067
Tech Regular
 
Afro Puff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I hear Kyosho silver cans are really fast because they have those cheater arms in them and have like 20T. Also, try polishing off the bearings/bushings in the motor can for less friction.

For a slow old TB01? I'd say the best hopup for that is a TC3 Definately bearings, if you don't already have them. With all the resistance in a stock TB01, you won't make runtime even with the 540 and new Trinity 3600s
__________________
Ghetto Fabulous Racing: Not just ghetto, Ghetto Fabulous.
Team TYCO Jam Car: Independently controlled - acts as a moving obstacle!
Afro Puff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 06:50 PM   #6068
DJB
Tech Regular
 
DJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 499
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

yeh we put ball bearings in it. they are bricks tho. we dont no how to lighten it thats the prob. thanks for the motor help tho. i think ill get busted but its worth a shot do trinity have 3600 now?? where do u get them??
__________________
Team Associated - Champions by Design
DJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 07:08 PM   #6069
Tech Adept
 
jiggen5354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 192
Default

which tb01 do you have? if you have the rally models then you can lighten the drivetrain witha ally driveshaft and gears out of a tb ev0 2.

if you have a onroad tb01 (nsx and enzo) then you will have the ally drive shaft and evo 2 gears standard.
jiggen5354 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 07:12 PM   #6070
DJB
Tech Regular
 
DJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 499
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

we have a rally one. hey jiggen5354 can u possibly give me the parts to those many thanks.
__________________
Team Associated - Champions by Design
DJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 07:14 PM   #6071
Tech Regular
 
Afro Puff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The Trinity 3600s have supposedly been released according to a few sources but I have yet to see them anywhere so I'm guessing they're not out. How could I forget? Good high voltage matched batteries always help.
__________________
Ghetto Fabulous Racing: Not just ghetto, Ghetto Fabulous.
Team TYCO Jam Car: Independently controlled - acts as a moving obstacle!
Afro Puff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 07:27 PM   #6072
Tech Adept
 
jiggen5354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJB
we have a rally one. hey jiggen5354 can u possibly give me the parts to those many thanks.
I no longer have my tb01. it was sold ages ago. there is a graphite driveshaft for the tb01 as well but its best to avoid as it wasnt much lighter, more fragile and very expensive in oz.

I currently run a evo 3 surikarn with light weight drive shaft
jiggen5354 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 11:01 PM   #6073
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default Re: New car

Quote:
Originally posted by DJB
i just bought a new tb evo 3 surikarn edition can u guys give me some tips to make it go faster?? i only run 540 stock motors and ive geared it properly but i still need a bit more speed. also the shaft seems to be sloppy. will i need the option on-53686 or what should i do? I race on concrete at nite with tamiya A tires and an LRP V7.1 speedo. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
"Stock" or "540"? They mean 2 different things in Oz.

What's your 'proper' gearing?


If racing night and its cool, try TakeOff CS22 or the Sorex equivalents, they'll probably work better than Tamiya Type-As.
__________________
--------------------
www.PandaGFX.com
--------------------
www.MelbRC.org
----------------
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 11:12 PM   #6074
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 26
Default

GP3300 can charge more than 3600mah already. Do you think you really need to have the new cells? Just a thought.
GFXmania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 03:16 AM   #6075
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dordon , England
Posts: 387
Default Spool

Does anyone know where i can get hold of a spool here in the UK ??
__________________
Xray X1 "16" driven by an idiot, me
weekendracer_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Schumacher Mi2, Tamiya M02, Tamiya TA04-S, Tamiya TB Evolution 3 Surikarn Ltd st_rob Australia For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2008 06:37 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution II (NEW) ivan3721 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-18-2008 04:56 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution 5 veecee Australia For Sale/Trade 3 07-20-2007 07:13 PM
tamiya tb evolution 5 b-man777 Electric On-Road 1 05-24-2006 10:38 AM
XXX-S GP VS Tamiya Evolution III capricess Electric On-Road 29 01-27-2003 07:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:50 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net