R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2003, 03:00 PM   #5311
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 479
Default

yeah i agree.

but how come i heard alot of people say they will only buy the evo4 is its 3 piece?
Evo_Uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 03:21 AM   #5312
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evo_Uk
Guys, just out of curiosity .

if you could have a car with a drive train with no problems at all

would you rather have a 1 peice or a 3 piece prop shaft?

Tarnjit

1 piece.
it will be lighter and will produce less slop when it wears.
__________________
Tamiya
Much More Racing
LRP electronic
Futaba
Speedtechrc
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 04:07 AM   #5313
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default

ok...so with the HPI pro4evolution III surikarn/hara edition
available now, and basicly addressing all the issues of the evo3s should we now jumpover to hippy racing?
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 04:49 AM   #5314
Tech Master
 
Atomix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ignorance
Posts: 1,226
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VenomWorldOrder
ok...so with the HPI pro4evolution III surikarn/hara edition
available now, and basicly addressing all the issues of the evo3s should we now jumpover to hippy racing?
Yes.
Atomix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 04:54 AM   #5315
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somewhere on earth
Posts: 927
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evo_Uk
Guys, just out of curiosity .

if you could have a car with a drive train with no problems at all

would you rather have a 1 peice or a 3 piece prop shaft?

Tarnjit
3 piece prop i think as with a 1 piece prop there is no room for chassis flex which will happen causing the gear mesh to alter/bind up hence there is still a chance of stripping gears. The origional TC3 graphite shaft was light in weight and combine that with alloy inputs into the gearbox's and thats as light as a one piece alloy shaft. Rick
Rick Draper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 05:54 PM   #5316
Tech Fanatic
 
Steevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TIMMAY!!!
Posts: 980
Default Tech Racing 3 Piece Shaft Question

Hello All,
I was just wanting to know from those guys with the Tech 3 piece Shaft, Do you have the shaft adjusted so that the shaft has no float in it or do you adjust it so that the shaft is tight between the ends. Also where did you put the second "O" Ring?? Not the one that goes around the alloy spur gear holder but the other one.

Any help is appreciated

steevo
Steevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 06:10 PM   #5317
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default Re: Tech Racing 3 Piece Shaft Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Steevo
Hello All,
I was just wanting to know from those guys with the Tech 3 piece Shaft, Do you have the shaft adjusted so that the shaft has no float in it or do you adjust it so that the shaft is tight between the ends. Also where did you put the second "O" Ring?? Not the one that goes around the alloy spur gear holder but the other one.

Any help is appreciated

steevo
what i've done is place the small "O" ring inside the front drive cup. and as for adjusting the float. i left about 1-2mm so the shaft can have some space to move around if impact does occur.
racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 06:21 PM   #5318
Tech Fanatic
 
Steevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TIMMAY!!!
Posts: 980
Default Re: Re: Tech Racing 3 Piece Shaft Question

Quote:
Originally posted by racer
what i've done is place the small "O" ring inside the front drive cup. and as for adjusting the float. i left about 1-2mm so the shaft can have some space to move around if impact does occur.
Thanks racer,
Do you find it quite noisy?? Mine seems to make a lot of noise...

steevo.
Steevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 06:25 PM   #5319
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default Re: Re: Re: Tech Racing 3 Piece Shaft Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Steevo
Thanks racer,
Do you find it quite noisy?? Mine seems to make a lot of noise...

steevo.
your welcome Steevo,

yeah, i came across that too. you can try glueing the bearings to the motormount and gear cases. that way it will hopefully reduce the noise from vibration.

its up to you if you want to do something like that.
racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 04:48 PM   #5320
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somewhere on earth
Posts: 927
Default

Everyone happy with the way there evos are running then? TTT. Rick
Rick Draper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 04:54 PM   #5321
Tech Elite
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BigDogRacing
Default

Mine continues to run well. I've done a few more things to make it faster like cleaning the grease out of the bearings etc. I'm looking forward to seeing if it helps. My ring gear fix is still holding strong. It sure is nice to not have to worry about it all the time!! I still find myself pulling the front tranny cover off to check and see if the gears are really not broken!!! No joke. I have also realized that the rest of the car is quite strong. I haven't broken one single part except for the gears and a slightly bent driveshaft.
BigDogRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 08:06 PM   #5322
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

amen to that Jason... i have run the o4/414/evo suspension for about 2 years every weekend, and have maybe broken 1 front arm, and bent 1 hingepin. i usually wear out suspension pieces before they break. what an idea!
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 10:25 PM   #5323
Tech Master
 
f1larry's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Posts: 1,685
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to f1larry
Default

The only time I break is when I neglect to make sure all my screws are tight. The car is as strong as can be. I don't worry about the one way gear for now since I am running a front diff.

For the tight track I run on the Diff works better for me.
__________________
Windy City RC Raceway & Hobbies, Arlington Heights, IL
Tamiya TRF 415|TA05 v2|TA05|TL01RA|TL01|M05|M06|F104 Pro|F103RM|RM-01|RM Mk.5
Custom Racing Stickers
2012 TCS Race #170 "The Track" @ Harbor Hobby Best of Show Mini Pro
f1larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 10:36 PM   #5324
Tech Regular
 
gcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 269
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by f1larry
The only time I break is when I neglect to make sure all my screws are tight. The car is as strong as can be. I don't worry about the one way gear for now since I am running a front diff.

For the tight track I run on the Diff works better for me.
I actually use the 1-way all the time. I have shimmed it. Usually when a tooth breaks it folds over into the the gear tooth channel. I have resurrected some gears by taking out the broken pieces and reusing them. If you bench test it it usually does not skip.

It does make funny noises but if it saves some money in gears and does not fail who cares. My latest gear after breaking probably has over 100 minutes on it after some banging and bashing.

coop
gcooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 10:42 PM   #5325
Tech Fanatic
 
tony q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 90631
Posts: 896
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default one way diff

right now,i'm using the rear diff gear as a oneway by doing a little modification.Dremel the middle hole to a bigger size to fit the oneway housing after that i use the peguin back plate,solve no more stripping...
tony q is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Schumacher Mi2, Tamiya M02, Tamiya TA04-S, Tamiya TB Evolution 3 Surikarn Ltd st_rob Australia For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2008 07:37 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution II (NEW) ivan3721 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-18-2008 05:56 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution 5 veecee Australia For Sale/Trade 3 07-20-2007 08:13 PM
tamiya tb evolution 5 b-man777 Electric On-Road 1 05-24-2006 11:38 AM
XXX-S GP VS Tamiya Evolution III capricess Electric On-Road 29 01-27-2003 08:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:29 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0