R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-27-2003, 01:21 PM   #4066
Tech Regular
 
1shnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maple,ontario,Canada
Posts: 497
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

OK........

I don't know if ran yours with stock when you had it, but what was your gear ratio?

and do you remember which company the brushes were?(i don't know any company has brushes without any silver content)

anyone else run their evoIII with stock set up(gear ratio,which motor,what brushes)...........

thanx alot guys
1shnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 09:44 PM   #4067
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 16,668
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

I only ran stock 1 day, and it was a tight layout, so gear ratio really wouldn't matter. We do only have 5 min heats out here, so I dont build the motor to get runtime, just speed. I did run 1/12 scale 4 cell mod, and we ran that for 8 mins, check Trinity's website, they should have some hard serrated brushes, I'd give those a shot.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 10:07 PM   #4068
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,083
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hey everyone! I found a great starting carpet setup for foams on the EVO 3 S. Thought you guys might want to check it out.

Front:
Spring: AE Purple
Oil: AE 80wt
piston: 3hole
Shock attachment: outside on tower, outside on arm
Swaybar: Blue
uptravel: 1mm
ride height: 5mm
camber link: long postion no shims
kickup/rollcenter: no shims under suspension blocks
Tires: Jaco Purple/orange 28mm (trued to 59mm)
Notes: Put a d block up front, and an A block in the back

Rear:
Spring: Ae purple
Oil: AE 60wt
Piston: 3 hole
shock attachment: middle on tower, outside on arm
swaybar: blue
uptravel: 1.5mm
rideheight: 5mm
camber link: long, no shims
kickup/rollcenter: no shims under suspension blocks
Tires: Jaco Purple 28mm (trued to 59mm)
Notes: use a red wheel shim, use TQ Purple/mod traction compound on full rear, 3/4 in the front. Front and rear ball diffs. Front tighter than rear. A block both front and rear suspension mounts

I'll try and keep you guys updated in what I find with some fine tweaking. This setup has a tad of push, but it's really easy to drive.

-Sushi Boy
__________________
Apex RC - Prospec America - LRP - Roche RC USA - Awesomatix USA - Protoform - AVID - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Sweep - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 06:18 PM   #4069
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 248
Default My carpet setup

Front:
Spring: AE Yellow
Oil: 50wt
piston: 3hole
Shock attachment: middle on tower, outside on arm
Swaybar: yellow
uptravel: 2mm
ride height: 4.5mm
camber link: middle w/3mm shim
kickup/rollcenter: stock shim under front suspension block
Tires: TRC plaids (trued to 59mm)
Notes: Had to use HPI Aluminum hex claps and 1mm shim to fit tires of front

Rear:
Spring: Ae purple
Oil: 50wt
Piston: 3 hole
shock attachment: first on tower, outside on arm
swaybar: none
uptravel: 2.5mm
rideheight: 5mm
camber link: long, no shims
kickup/rollcenter: no shims under suspension blocks
Tires: TRC Purple (trued to 59mm)
HPI hex clamps, B block in rear, ball diffs front and rear, Parma X20 body.

Paragon 1/2 in front and full in rear. This setup builds more front bite as the run goes on. The rear never steps out or gets loose.
Downforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 07:31 PM   #4070
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,083
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

does tamiya make any rear uprights that are 1 degree instead of 2?

-Sushi Boy
__________________
Apex RC - Prospec America - LRP - Roche RC USA - Awesomatix USA - Protoform - AVID - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Sweep - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 07:52 PM   #4071
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 248
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sushi Boy
does tamiya make any rear uprights that are 1 degree instead of 2?

-Sushi Boy
I don't know. I noticed that the rear hubs say 2 degrees on the back side. I might run the D block an try to reverse the hubs. That would be 1.5 degrees of rear toe. I hope!
Downforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 07:58 PM   #4072
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,083
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

yeah, the back end of my car is TOTALLY GLUED!!!! I'm trying to figure out how to carry a bit more speed in the corners, then it will be golden.

-Sushi Boy
__________________
Apex RC - Prospec America - LRP - Roche RC USA - Awesomatix USA - Protoform - AVID - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Sweep - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 09:13 PM   #4073
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

Tamiya makes a 1deg. rear upright but the locations for the upper links are different. You can just use a B-D block in place of the RF block like what you did to the FF one to get less than 2deg. rear toe.
Aurra Sing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 09:19 PM   #4074
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 248
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aurra Sing
Tamiya makes a 1deg. rear upright but the locations for the upper links are different. You can just use a B-D block in place of the RF block like what you did to the FF one to get less than 2deg. rear toe.
Thanks! I forgot about mixing the RF blocks to adjust toe. I should have remembered to do that.
Downforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 01:59 AM   #4075
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somewhere on earth
Posts: 927
Default

Just got the tech racing 3 piece center shaft for my eco 3 i will let everyone know if it stops the gears stripping i think it will but we will see. Rick
Rick Draper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 02:10 AM   #4076
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 449
Default

Rick: Whereabout did you find the 3 piece shaft set? Would be great if you could post some pics
__________________
Awesomatix A700L (building) | VBC Wildfire D07 (building) |416WE/X Smokem | Hobbywing 120A v2.1 | Sanwa M11x
itchynads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 03:02 AM   #4077
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somewhere on earth
Posts: 927
Default

Hi it came from Rainbow10 but they only had 1 in stock. I will post some pics of it later on. Rick
Rick Draper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 08:04 AM   #4078
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Europe (Denmark)
Posts: 114
Default

Rainbow Ten website: http://www.rainbowten.co.jp/english/index.html

But I haven't been able to find any pic's of the 3 piece shaft set..........Maybe some one else could?

Take care
SSL
SpineX-SSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 09:32 AM   #4079
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,500
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Angry Frustration

I am have the worst time with my front gear box.I must first say I feel this car is as fast as any other and I really think its an excellent handling car.That being said,I am getting really tired of the front gearbox problems with either the ring gear{larger}stripping or the pinion{smaller}gear internally stripping.I am not stripping ring gears at this time but my pinion gears internally where the drive shaft plugs into it is stripping out internally and pushing forward toward the ring gear causing binding.I would get about 2 runs and then have to replace the pinion.The internal d shaped notch becomes rounded out or basically reemed out by the drive shaft and then it pushes the pinion forward.This has cost me races over the last 3 race days.In the a main yesterday I had a good lead 3/4 of the race and then the binding started.Everyone was then so much faster when we got on the straight away!Is anyone else having the same problem?Could this be because of the actual gear box itself?I have a little play where the pinion gear bearing seats in the gearbox.Could this be the culprit?Should I buy a new front box?HELP!
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 09:57 AM   #4080
Tech Master
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Geetoo Send a message via Yahoo to Geetoo
Default

Try SQUARE gearbox. This should help. ALthough it still strips but you get to use your gears much longer than usual. Gosh still a headache
__________________
www.hpiracing.com
www.hotbodiesonline.net
www.nosram.com
www.team-durango.com
www.actionhobbiesonline.net
Geetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Schumacher Mi2, Tamiya M02, Tamiya TA04-S, Tamiya TB Evolution 3 Surikarn Ltd st_rob Australia For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2008 06:37 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution II (NEW) ivan3721 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-18-2008 04:56 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution 5 veecee Australia For Sale/Trade 3 07-20-2007 07:13 PM
tamiya tb evolution 5 b-man777 Electric On-Road 1 05-24-2006 10:38 AM
XXX-S GP VS Tamiya Evolution III capricess Electric On-Road 29 01-27-2003 07:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net