R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2003, 06:53 PM   #2866
Tech Addict
 
defMondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 602
Default

I also found on my EVO3S that the shaft does not move backward and forward at all. I have ran it in 2 race meetings and it still seems rather tight, the other evo had a little bit of play in the shaft.

Tony
defMondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 07:57 PM   #2867
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,067
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

What do you think the benifit of having no play in the shaft is?
__________________
Pro Spec America/Apex RC - Team ORCA - Awesomatix USA - Roche RC USA - AVID - Sweep - Protoform - Pro-One RC - Slapmaster Tools - Hebiki Design Works - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers - Timezone Hobbies
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 09:22 PM   #2868
Tech Addict
 
defMondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 602
Default

I would thin a little bit of play would be better then no play at all.

So that there maybe a little bit more give in a shunt. And also to free up the drive train more.

My evo3s drive train needs a lot of work to be as smooth and as free as my evo3 drive train.

Tony
defMondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 09:27 PM   #2869
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

hey GT: any chance you can get a pic of ur evo with the blue aluminium things?
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 09:48 PM   #2870
Tech Regular
 
GTMilenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by davioh
hey GT: any chance you can get a pic of ur evo with the blue aluminium things?
no problem! i'm going to borrow my mothers digi cam tonight, so i'll post one as soon as i can k.
btw thanks a bunch for the advice on doing the body post holes, i got it perfect!
GTMilenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 09:56 PM   #2871
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GTMilenko
no problem! i'm going to borrow my mothers digi cam tonight, so i'll post one as soon as i can k.
btw thanks a bunch for the advice on doing the body post holes, i got it perfect!
thanx! it'll be close to what mine might look! no problem, glad i was helpful!
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 11:27 PM   #2872
Tech Elite
 
izzyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,723
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys! one of my wheel axles is to fat to fit in the bearing. I already used a Caliper and it indeed has a larger diameter. Being a Tamiya car I was very disappointed.
__________________
Izzy
izzyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 11:28 PM   #2873
Tech Addict
 
Intelligentsia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 570
Default

You are starting to make me not want to put mine together.
Intelligentsia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 11:37 PM   #2874
Tech Elite
 
izzyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,723
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Don't panic, I think this is a very isolated incident, and I'm sure Tamiya America will replace any defective part.
__________________
Izzy
izzyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 11:45 PM   #2875
Tech Apprentice
 
Fully Hopped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: follow the leader
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by izzyracer
Hi guys! one of my wheel axles is to fat to fit in the bearing. I already used a Caliper and it indeed has a larger diameter. Being a Tamiya car I was very disappointed.
Damn. Seems like your kit got a bunch of oversized parts izzy. Where did you buy it?
Fully Hopped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 11:51 PM   #2876
Tech Elite
 
izzyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,723
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fully Hopped
Damn. Seems like your kit got a bunch of oversized parts izzy. Where did you buy it?
I know huh! I did get it through HK. I'm thinking of just upgrading to the lightweight axles from square.
__________________
Izzy
izzyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 02:09 AM   #2877
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 429
Default

izzyracer,
on my Evo 3 I also had one of the wheel axles to fat to fit in the bearing, so itīs not an isolated incident I think.
Have never experienced anything like it on previous Tamiya cars though.
Holmenkollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 02:19 AM   #2878
Tech Regular
 
GTMilenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Posts: 355
Default

heres a pic of my EVO III
davioh-let me know if you want some close ups of those new camber links.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg my rc 0002.jpg (177.7 KB, 142 views)
GTMilenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 03:47 AM   #2879
Tech Regular
 
KiwiKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SG
Posts: 458
Default

Nice car.

Is that a 27 turn stock you have mounted in your EVO? Do they race with 23 turns in NZ?

(I come from Auckland, but currently do all my driving in Singapore, where I'm based now.)


Quote:
Originally posted by GTMilenko
heres a pic of my EVO III
davioh-let me know if you want some close ups of those new camber links.
KiwiKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 04:08 AM   #2880
Tech Regular
 
GTMilenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KiwiKid
Nice car.

Is that a 27 turn stock you have mounted in your EVO? Do they race with 23 turns in NZ?

(I come from Auckland, but currently do all my driving in Singapore, where I'm based now.)
thanx.
i believe it is 27 turn(but not really sure", its a johnson 540, we all use these motors in our "open stock class"
i think they go pretty well,heaps of torque i gear it a 4.5 and they seem to last about 3months before they start losing alot of perfomance.
i don't think anyone is aloud to run 23turn motors(unless in mod) there is a "pro stock class" but i'm pretty sure they are all 27turn.

what did you run when you where in auckland?
GTMilenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Schumacher Mi2, Tamiya M02, Tamiya TA04-S, Tamiya TB Evolution 3 Surikarn Ltd st_rob Australia For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2008 07:37 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution II (NEW) ivan3721 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-18-2008 05:56 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution 5 veecee Australia For Sale/Trade 3 07-20-2007 08:13 PM
tamiya tb evolution 5 b-man777 Electric On-Road 1 05-24-2006 11:38 AM
XXX-S GP VS Tamiya Evolution III capricess Electric On-Road 29 01-27-2003 08:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:42 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0