R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2003, 08:09 AM   #1741
Tech Elite
 
izzyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,728
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by davioh
hehe...maybe...what does it do...the torque rod....and so whats with installing it? doesn't come with the e3?
With the torque rod, it keeps the front hubs really stiff, if installed properly you could feel no play. I personally like this set up because it keeps your settings up front true keeping your caster consistent. It was the hot setup for a while then the Tamiya Pros started saying that it can be a disadvantage because it does not allow any flex in the hubs. Also when they came out with the new World Champ Stabilizer Set, you can no longer attach the torque rods. I don't know if it does really affect performance, again, I think it will really depend on your overall set-up. I actually did install one in my TB EVO 3 but ended up taking it off after a big hit and stripped the threads where it sets on the hubs. I still have them on my TA04-R's and they work well so I have no reason to take it off.
__________________
Izzy
izzyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:16 AM   #1742
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

oh okay...so it didnt' come with an evo 3?
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:17 AM   #1743
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

the torque rods run from the top of the steering block back to the upper chassis... its purpose is to reinforce the steering block to prevent change in caster during hard cornering, plus it also somewhat prevents the block breaking in a crash. they came on the TA04R and the 414 series...
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:19 AM   #1744
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

you can put them on the evo, with the 414 worlds upper sway mount with a lil ingenuity....
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:21 AM   #1745
Tech Elite
 
izzyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,728
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tamiyadriver
you can put them on the evo, with the 414 worlds upper sway mount with a lil ingenuity....
You genius you, show us, show us, show us!
__________________
Izzy
izzyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 09:14 AM   #1746
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

ill get a pic on as soon as i can... prolly be later this evening.
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 10:32 AM   #1747
Registered User
 
mcrisp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 68
Default Updated Carpet Foam Setup

Hi,

I tried some new ideas for my foam setup. Mainly I reduced the rear toe in to 0.5 from 1.5 and played with the roll center, spring rates and shock mounting locations.. I also changed the front hing pin blocks around.

You can find it at
mPowered-racing.com EVO III FOAM Setup

The car has a very quick turn in and is well balanced mid corner. It rotates through the corners very very quickly.
mcrisp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 10:41 AM   #1748
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

ooo....i think i nkow what a torque rod is now ....is it the wishbone thingY?
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 02:17 PM   #1749
Tech Regular
 
GTMilenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Posts: 355
Default

davioh do u own a evo 3?
GTMilenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:14 PM   #1750
Tech Rookie
 
Rob pacheco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Quebec Hull
Posts: 12
Default evoIII

Hi Martin
i had a blast watching you and your Tamiya friends Racing at the Ottawa Championship.
I also got in to the A main qualifie 6 in stock ruber and finish 6 first time out with this Baby.

Thanks
Rob pacheco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 09:06 PM   #1751
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GTMilenko
davioh do u own a evo 3?
hence the name tb evo driver on my sig....
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 10:32 PM   #1752
Tech Regular
 
GTMilenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by davioh
hence the name tb evo driver on my sig....
i was just wondering cause you asked if it came with a transponder mount, and then if it came with toque rods it doesn't come with these things.
but i think it should come with more options like this and also come with a front diff and one-way.
i'm still having trouble with the servo saver sticking, anyone else have this problem? just need to order a KIM201 saver.
also my servo is crap, what will a high performance servo do for my lap times? thanx guys.
GTMilenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003, 12:41 AM   #1753
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

here are a couple o pix of my wcr sway with caster rods... it could prolly use some lil collars between the mounts, but seems to work good so far... just go to this album marked "rc stuff"
webshots album
__________________
Wes

Team Novak

Last edited by Turbonium; 04-11-2003 at 12:49 AM.
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003, 01:07 AM   #1754
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

damn! what did you do?! you did it! 414 style! hehehehe
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003, 03:39 AM   #1755
Tech Regular
 
GTMilenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Posts: 355
Default

tamiyadriver - what size turnbuckles did you use for those toque rods?
and whats the part No. for that swaybar kit?
GTMilenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Schumacher Mi2, Tamiya M02, Tamiya TA04-S, Tamiya TB Evolution 3 Surikarn Ltd st_rob Australia For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2008 06:37 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution II (NEW) ivan3721 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-18-2008 04:56 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution 5 veecee Australia For Sale/Trade 3 07-20-2007 07:13 PM
tamiya tb evolution 5 b-man777 Electric On-Road 1 05-24-2006 10:38 AM
XXX-S GP VS Tamiya Evolution III capricess Electric On-Road 29 01-27-2003 07:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net