R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2003, 01:16 AM   #1606
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default TB Evo III Surikarn Limited (49283)

Maybe this is old news, but it is official that Tamiya will release this car this coming May in Japan for Y49,800. Tamiya item # 49283. Picture again

Last edited by elnitro; 04-01-2003 at 01:22 AM.
elnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 01:18 AM   #1607
Tech Regular
 
GTMilenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Posts: 355
Default

you can pre order it already
GTMilenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 02:02 AM   #1608
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

from the pic you can really see a difference from the normal TBE3, but that might just be me. well other than RED....why don't they make a silver version! silver is much better than red or blue (surikan's blue at least)
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 04:10 AM   #1609
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

oh and what does that blue thingy do ontop of the ESC or sumthing?
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 06:22 AM   #1610
Tech Fanatic
 
Aluma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edinburg TX
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey guys, I've never run mod before in touring car.... how do you gear for an 11X2? whats a good final drive to start with?
Aluma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 07:45 AM   #1611
Tech Master
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,735
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to madjack
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KilRuf
I wouldn't say the EVO 3 is perfected. It still has some issues that need to be worked out. But we'll see once I get my SD in this week. In the mean time I'm gonna race my EVO3 on carpet for the first time. I'll have to see how it compares to my old TC3.

A question for you guys. Just curious but do you think chassis flex will cause some slight gear mesh problems? Looking at the TC3. It's a 3 piece unit where flex won't interfere with gear mesh because the shaft floats in the drive cups. But on an EVO3 the shaft is directly connect between one drive/shaft gear to the other. Therefore, alittle flexing might cause slight changes in the gear mesh of the diff and shaft gears. Now I don't think the chassis would flex that much to make a big difference. But just curious as to what yall think.
I agree with you that chassis flex is the main problem. (hence the reason that you'll see the Surikan's new red ride with a 3mm chassis)

It is my understanding that the combination of chassis flex and the crown gear ridge (backing) have been the source of most of the problems, not the gear box material alone.

I have made the two changes per Tamiya America (trim crown gear backing & add spacers to A1 & A3) and have not had any more problems. I also run a countersunk upper chassis.
madjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 10:21 AM   #1612
Tech Elite
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,959
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey all, I'll post last weekend's Tamiya America with the Reedy Race layout setup as soon as I get a chance.
rtypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 10:30 AM   #1613
Tech Master
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Geetoo Send a message via Yahoo to Geetoo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aluma
hey guys, I've never run mod before in touring car.... how do you gear for an 11X2? whats a good final drive to start with?
I have been running my 11x2 motor with a 90/35 or up. No problem with dumping whatsoever. I can go as high as 38.
__________________
www.hpiracing.com
www.hotbodiesonline.net
www.nosram.com
www.team-durango.com
www.actionhobbiesonline.net
Geetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 10:30 AM   #1614
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default

davioh

That's a power capacitor. It stores electricity so it is available when you mash the throttle and need the extra grunt.
psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 11:59 AM   #1615
Tech Elite
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,959
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default


Last edited by rtypec; 04-02-2003 at 05:35 PM.
rtypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 05:17 PM   #1616
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 503
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AQuionIV Send a message via Yahoo to AQuionIV
Default

wow RTypeC.. u run brushless on that evo3?! hahah.. I wish I coulda seen it when I saw ur car=).. good job=).. and it's nice to see ur not running the "everybody run it Stratus" body. BTW.. r u running in the invitational class? or just the spec 19 turn?
AQuionIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 05:20 PM   #1617
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 503
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AQuionIV Send a message via Yahoo to AQuionIV
Default

whoa.. 90/35 for an 11x2 motor?! hahah.. that's what I geared my Stock motor for! lol... Maybe RTypeC was right, and I shoulda just madd overgeared my handout stock for sunday. lol.. But wow.. I didn't know u can gear so high for mod motor.. u think it'd b safe to gear my 8x2 Ti that high?
AQuionIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 10:43 PM   #1618
Tech Fanatic
 
dsrbltoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Set up sheets

What the hell is this thing you guys have done. I have yet to simply PRINT this damn set up or any others for this car. All I get is top left corner. Why cant you set it up on the STANDARD 8.5 x 11" size!!!!
dsrbltoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 11:21 PM   #1619
Tech Adept
 
TRF_SPAIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 157
Default

madjack how many mm between A1 and A3???, and in both front and rear? thanks
TRF_SPAIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 11:28 PM   #1620
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

isn't the setup sheet on the Tamiya web page A4? u can try that dsrbtoys!
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Schumacher Mi2, Tamiya M02, Tamiya TA04-S, Tamiya TB Evolution 3 Surikarn Ltd st_rob Australia For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2008 07:37 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution II (NEW) ivan3721 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-18-2008 05:56 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution 5 veecee Australia For Sale/Trade 3 07-20-2007 08:13 PM
tamiya tb evolution 5 b-man777 Electric On-Road 1 05-24-2006 11:38 AM
XXX-S GP VS Tamiya Evolution III capricess Electric On-Road 29 01-27-2003 08:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:17 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0