R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-24-2016, 01:10 PM   #61
Tech Addict
 
aracefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: OK
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Hahaha! Yeah, figured for less than $90 I'll build'em and let my kids run them. Or, there are a few people at our local track that runs them, I can always sell them for $50 bucks each.

Quote:
Originally Posted by longuylander View Post
aracefan, I just noticed the five minute time difference between your "I almost ordered two but just bought another 1/12" post and your "I just ordered two of them" post. Couldn't resist, eh?
__________________
All give some, but some give all - thank you veterans for my freedom.
VBC is my new addiction - have Alex Pate at GripworksRC to thank for that!
aracefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 04:37 PM   #62
Tech Elite
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,271
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aracefan View Post
just ordered 2 of them... they were $39.03 /ea. $88 with shipping for 2 of 'em.
Nice!
__________________
4PKS-R, DX4S, EX-5UR: Sabre4WD Mini, SabreFD Mini, M01, M02, M03, M04, M05 (2), M05ProV2, TA05 M-Four, CupRacer, BSR M-Rage, WR02, GF01 (2), CC01 (2), CW01, CR01, DF02, TT02B, TA02, RS4, MicroRS4, MR01, MR03-S (2), MR03VE, DigiQ (7), & more.. Updates of projects I am working on in my profile page.
sakadachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 05:17 PM   #63
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,100
Trader Rating: 134 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aracefan View Post
Here ya go.
Make sure it says: Shipped from USA East Warehouse above the quantity.
Tried, but get the following message and they won't sell me the kit. I'm south east Ontario and don't understand why I cannot buy from the east warehouse.

Attention

You are located in CA but one or more products in your cart are from the USA East Warehouse or Store Front and cannot be shipped to your country. Remove the product from your cart and add the International warehouse item with the same SKU.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 05:30 PM   #64
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,100
Trader Rating: 134 (100%+)
Default

HK chat rep advised that the east coast warehouse is US only sales. Thanks for nothing HK.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 05:44 PM   #65
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,100
Trader Rating: 134 (100%+)
Default

If anyone bought a kit or two too many, please send me a PM
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2016, 06:26 AM   #66
Tech Addict
 
aracefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: OK
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

sent you a PM brother.
__________________
All give some, but some give all - thank you veterans for my freedom.
VBC is my new addiction - have Alex Pate at GripworksRC to thank for that!
aracefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2016, 06:28 AM   #67
Tech Addict
 
aracefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: OK
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveM View Post
don't understand why I cannot buy from the east warehouse.
'Cause you're one of them danged Canadians!

__________________
All give some, but some give all - thank you veterans for my freedom.
VBC is my new addiction - have Alex Pate at GripworksRC to thank for that!
aracefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 12:30 PM   #68
Tech Regular
 
longuylander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 305
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

So the car came in the mail yesterday. It'll be a while before I get to put it together, but I did open the box and look at the parts. I was surprised to see the diffs and the shocks prebuilt. The differentials don't feel completely smooth, so I will strip them down and rebuild them. I wish they had come disassembled in the first place. The shocks don't seem to have oil in them, so they too will be disassembled and checked before the oil is added.

I'm keeping it running brushed, so I picked up a Reedy sc550 ESC. I don't know its limit, but I'll be running either a silver can (possibly a 4-slot) or a Tamiya lightly-tuned motor. If it can't handle that...

The wheels are so cute! That's not a term used often in this hobby, but when put next to regular touring car wheels, the little dishes and small tires are adorable. I'll have to come up with a good paint scheme for the body to match.

I'll plan on adding bearings to the steering while I build it. I've seen in this thread people talking about what size fits, so before I start the build, I'll order some. Other than that and some spring changes, it looks pretty good right from the box!
longuylander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 04:47 PM   #69
Tech Elite
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,271
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I thought the dampers came pre-oiled...? I can't remember for sure..
__________________
4PKS-R, DX4S, EX-5UR: Sabre4WD Mini, SabreFD Mini, M01, M02, M03, M04, M05 (2), M05ProV2, TA05 M-Four, CupRacer, BSR M-Rage, WR02, GF01 (2), CC01 (2), CW01, CR01, DF02, TT02B, TA02, RS4, MicroRS4, MR01, MR03-S (2), MR03VE, DigiQ (7), & more.. Updates of projects I am working on in my profile page.
sakadachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 05:33 PM   #70
Tech Regular
 
longuylander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 305
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I guess it's possible they are; I didn't open that bag. But next to them in the bag was a bottle of shock oil, so I assume they are empty. If they do have oil, it's nice to get the extra oil!
longuylander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 07:07 PM   #71
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 591
Default

They're not pre-filled with oil. If they were, I'd junk the rubber (o-rings, diaphragm) and replace with new cos you don't know how long they will have been sitting in that silicone oil
__________________
On-Road - Xray T4'17 / Serpent 4-X / Tamiya Exo6 / Roche P10 & P12 & F1
4WD - Kyosho ZX6 / Yokomo YZ4 *** eBuggy - Tekno EB48SL
2WD - AE B5M (XFactory Chassis) / Kyosho RB6 / TLR 22 2.0 / Yokomo YZ2
SCT - Tekno SCT410 / Losi 22SCT 2.0
ST - Losi 22T 2.0
WagwanBumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 09:27 PM   #72
Tech Elite
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,271
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have oil dampers that are over 15 yrs old that don't leak, so I'd think they would be fine even if they came pre filled.
__________________
4PKS-R, DX4S, EX-5UR: Sabre4WD Mini, SabreFD Mini, M01, M02, M03, M04, M05 (2), M05ProV2, TA05 M-Four, CupRacer, BSR M-Rage, WR02, GF01 (2), CC01 (2), CW01, CR01, DF02, TT02B, TA02, RS4, MicroRS4, MR01, MR03-S (2), MR03VE, DigiQ (7), & more.. Updates of projects I am working on in my profile page.
sakadachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 11:14 PM   #73
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sakadachi View Post
I have oil dampers that are over 15 yrs old that don't leak, so I'd think they would be fine even if they came pre filled.
Thats good for you.

For the person asking, if they are pre-filled, I would at least 1 check if they still have oil in them and 2 replace the oil with weights you know are in there. Or just do what you want.
__________________
On-Road - Xray T4'17 / Serpent 4-X / Tamiya Exo6 / Roche P10 & P12 & F1
4WD - Kyosho ZX6 / Yokomo YZ4 *** eBuggy - Tekno EB48SL
2WD - AE B5M (XFactory Chassis) / Kyosho RB6 / TLR 22 2.0 / Yokomo YZ2
SCT - Tekno SCT410 / Losi 22SCT 2.0
ST - Losi 22T 2.0
WagwanBumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 04:04 PM   #74
Tech Elite
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,271
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WagwanBumba View Post
Thats good for you.

For the person asking, if they are pre-filled, I would at least 1 check if they still have oil in them and 2 replace the oil with weights you know are in there. Or just do what you want.
Yes it is. And it does come pre-filled. I checked my spare kit just now just for you. And it is not leaking nor does it really need anything else to get the kit to dial in as it is. While it is a cheapo kit, they did a good job with the basic setup.
__________________
4PKS-R, DX4S, EX-5UR: Sabre4WD Mini, SabreFD Mini, M01, M02, M03, M04, M05 (2), M05ProV2, TA05 M-Four, CupRacer, BSR M-Rage, WR02, GF01 (2), CC01 (2), CW01, CR01, DF02, TT02B, TA02, RS4, MicroRS4, MR01, MR03-S (2), MR03VE, DigiQ (7), & more.. Updates of projects I am working on in my profile page.
sakadachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 04:18 PM   #75
Tech Regular
 
longuylander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 305
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I just checked in my kit too, and indeed, the shocks are filled with oil! They're not leaking either. Since the kit included the extra oil (of unspecified weight), I'll run it first (once I get around to building it) with the shocks as they are. As long as the car handles well and the shocks continue not to leak, I'll leave them be. As said before, I bought the different springs, so I can tune with those.
longuylander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:11 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net