R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2015, 11:45 AM   #61
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KA2AEV View Post
We (my son and I) have a xray t4 2014 v that we use for onroad.
Its way to fast for me to handle on the tracks, but I like to do
Speed runs. Nothing close to what you guys do. I want to throw
A fast motor in it and see what I can do with it.
Sounds good. Let us know if you need any tips.
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:33 PM   #62
Tech Master
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 1,629
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4basher View Post
Sounds good. Let us know if you need any tips.
Thanks guys!
__________________
Hauler Driver, Liason, Lead Mechanic, Crew Chief, Procurement Specialist,
Conflict Resolution Specialist, Pychologist, Therapist All for Team Golddust Racing
Oh and By The Way
NBCsn and FxSports cable is growing on me too!
KA2AEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 02:35 PM   #63
Tech Addict
 
phildoggg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 664
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4basher View Post
OMG!! You guys from down under are seriously changing the game!! Seems like records broken every week!!

Heres my measly 138 mph pass from today hahaha

https://youtu.be/xV87k8opaio.
138! nice man. picking up every week.
phildoggg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 02:36 PM   #64
Tech Addict
 
phildoggg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 664
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter - D8 View Post
Hey Philip, not much man... you guys must see Wayne's gtp 153mph lol
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJtlm7aUzsg
Yeah i saw it. Aurthur tagged me in the post. insane speeds you guys are running..
phildoggg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 04:16 PM   #65
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phildoggg View Post
138! nice man. picking up every week.
Thanks Phildoggg. I like to just work my way up with the gearing a little every week. As long as Im getting a little faster each week and making progress, I'm happy.
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 07:21 PM   #66
Tech Master
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 1,629
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Guys have a question.
I've been looking at all the videos you have posted of the runs, which are awesome,
Do you guys use a minimum distance to qualify your runs, like the quarter mile at
a drag strip, or do you just run til you get the car up to max speed?
__________________
Hauler Driver, Liason, Lead Mechanic, Crew Chief, Procurement Specialist,
Conflict Resolution Specialist, Pychologist, Therapist All for Team Golddust Racing
Oh and By The Way
NBCsn and FxSports cable is growing on me too!
KA2AEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 08:06 PM   #67
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KA2AEV View Post
Guys have a question.
I've been looking at all the videos you have posted of the runs, which are awesome,
Do you guys use a minimum distance to qualify your runs, like the quarter mile at
a drag strip, or do you just run til you get the car up to max speed?
According to Lamont from Bashers United youtube channel who runs official ROSSA speed run events in Maryland, you get a maximum of 1200 ft to accelerate before the speed traps. Lately i have been using much more than that. Probably between a 1/4 and 1/2 mile before I let off throttle.

The street I use is about half mile long and I feel like I mite need more road soon. You can hear it in my vids when the car is topping out. It sounds kinda of like a slow rev limiter.

The Garmin GPS's require the car to be going its top speed for maybe a second or 2 to register the speed, I believe. So the car has to top out for a few seconds.

Hope this helps.
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 08:29 PM   #68
Tech Master
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 1,629
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4basher View Post
According to Lamont from Bashers United youtube channel who runs official ROSSA speed run events in Maryland, you get a maximum of 1200 ft to accelerate before the speed traps. Lately i have been using much more than that. Probably between a 1/4 and 1/2 mile before I let off throttle.

The street I use is about half mile long and I feel like I mite need more road soon. You can hear it in my vids when the car is topping out. It sounds kinda of like a slow rev limiter.

The Garmin GPS's require the car to be going its top speed for maybe a second or 2 to register the speed, I believe. So the car has to top out for a few seconds.

Hope this helps.
It does, thanks again. And I did notice the sound of the car too!
__________________
Hauler Driver, Liason, Lead Mechanic, Crew Chief, Procurement Specialist,
Conflict Resolution Specialist, Pychologist, Therapist All for Team Golddust Racing
Oh and By The Way
NBCsn and FxSports cable is growing on me too!
KA2AEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 11:09 PM   #69
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KA2AEV View Post
It does, thanks again. And I did notice the sound of the car too!
No prob man. Dont mind helping out others trying to get into speed runs. The way I see it, the more of us pushing our cars to extreme limits, the better the motors, parts, batteries, aerodynamic bodies, tires, technology....etc at more competitive prices.
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 09:12 AM   #70
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 680
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I have a TC3 that I still race in VTA. Once I retire that chassis from VTA racing, I'm turning it into a speed car. I just wish we had a good place to run them here. I guess I need to find an abandoned airstrip that still has good pavement.
glennhl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 10:58 AM   #71
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennhl View Post
I have a TC3 that I still race in VTA. Once I retire that chassis from VTA racing, I'm turning it into a speed car. I just wish we had a good place to run them here. I guess I need to find an abandoned airstrip that still has good pavement.
The TC3 is a great car for speed runs. I have a TC4 speed run car as well. At $150 for a brand new TC4 roller and easy to find, affordable parts, I would say the TC4 is the best car for someone wanting to get into speed runs.

Finding a good road to do speed runs is one of the hardest parts. The faster you go, the more road you will need. The road I use is also used for street racing at night and thats how I know about the street. If you know any street racers, they might be able to tell you some possible good roads for rc speed runs.

Last edited by tc4basher; 10-14-2015 at 12:03 PM.
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 03:18 PM   #72
Tech Addict
 
phildoggg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 664
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

There is no set distance by rossa. just set up the traps and make a pass through them. Lamont may have a limit on the street they run on.
phildoggg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 03:22 PM   #73
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 680
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4basher View Post
The TC3 is a great car for speed runs. I have a TC4 speed run car as well. At $150 for a brand new TC4 roller and easy to find, affordable parts, I would say the TC4 is the best car for someone wanting to get into speed runs.

Finding a good road to do speed runs is one of the hardest parts. The faster you go, the more road you will need. The road I use is also used for street racing at night and thats how I know about the street. If you know any street racers, they might be able to tell you some possible good roads for rc speed runs.
Thanks for the info. There used to be a road out West of Phoenix that was built and then abandoned, however, the bicyclist took it over. Now, they have developed the area and the road is being used by cars again. Darn!
glennhl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 03:38 PM   #74
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

[QUOTE=phildoggg;14223653]There is no set distance by rossa. just set up the traps and make a pass through them. Lamont may have a limit on the street they run on.[/QUOTE

I see. I thought 1200 ft was way too short. He needs to just move his speed traps further down that street some . Im sure they would see higher speeds.
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 03:42 PM   #75
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennhl View Post
Thanks for the info. There used to be a road out West of Phoenix that was built and then abandoned, however, the bicyclist took it over. Now, they have developed the area and the road is being used by cars again. Darn!
Like I said, finding a good road is one of the hardest thngs to do. I even know someone who goes onto Google Earth to look for roads around his area. He says its even possible to zoom in enough to see if there are a lot of manhole covers or reflectors in the road!
tc4basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net